The Excitement Of Cooking

7 28
Avatar for zellypearl
1 year ago
Topics: Cooking, Free writing, Recipe, Love, Life, ...

At about 4 PM yesterday, my little brother came out of the poultry farm screaming my mom's name and asking her to come quick. You can relate to the joy and excitement when something good is about to happen especially as a young child and while growing up then. Many of us here can relate to that excitement and I guess this is what my little brother felt when dad asked to slaughter the last biggest chicken that was preserved for Easter.
According to him, he didn't know how long the chicken would last till on Friday the actual day of his execution lol, so he rather said we should do the killing yesterday and then prepare it in advance. And this was my brother rushing in to break the news to my mom.

He brought the chicken from the poultry farm and my mom was asked to come and kill the chicken, but since my mom was already tired and weak, I was asked to take up the responsibility of killing and preparing the chicken.
Unlike me, and on a very normal day, I never get excited about doing this particular work perhaps because of the stress and all, but I found myself getting excited as well while making preparation for the chicken.
After cutting off its neck, I boiled water in a very big pot so I could dip the chicken inside and then peel off its feather.






I was already getting impatient for the water to boil to 100° Celsius so I asked my mom if it would still be good to dip the chicken when the water was half hot (not very hot or 100°) she said no, that I should let the water boil to 100° before I dip the chicken in it.
I also used that opportunity to share with her the plight and our experience while we traveled some time last month, what happened while we were dipping the chickens we were asked to prepare inside water. She told me why what happened happened and I took note of that and already got corrections that I am sure I wouldn't repeat the same mistake.

When the water boiled to 100°, I put out a big basin, place the chicken inside, and then slowly poured the hot water inside. Yes, I got burnt a little with the splashes from the hot water but it's okay, I didn't sustain any injury or scars so it was fine.
After a few seconds, I quickly removed the chicken from the hot water and placed it inside a big stray.
I pushed the hot water aside and started pulling off the feathers from the chicken. It was quite extraordinary and the feathers folded all up and appeared to be a little needle-like with pointed edges lol. It was quite exciting to peel the feathers off if you ask me. I don't know why everything felt adventurous for me yesterday unlike it.
I guess I was just in a good mood after all lol






After peeling all the feathers off and making it look clean by rinsing it with water to get off the tiny pieces of feathers left on it, I called my mom to come and do the dissection. It's not that I couldn't dissect the chicken myself, but I just wanted my mom to be the one doing it since the chicken was quite bigger and larger than my hand, and I didn't wanna strain my palms trying to open up its stomach.
My mom helped in opening up the chicken's stomach and bringing out its content, detaching them one after the other and then piecing the other parts and cutting them into smaller sizes to be cooked.

She washed and rinsed them in clean water and asked me to set up the fire for cooking.
Every ingredient was put inside the chicken and all required spices too.
The pot of chicken was soon placed on fire while I sliced the scent leaves to be used as well.
After a few minutes of cooking the chicken, the scent-leaves were introduced, and then the cooking continued until the chicken was well cooked and ready to be eaten.
Trust the taste to be good when two good chefs are joining hands together to prepare a meal, it always comes out the best.

We prepared white rice to use with the chicken pepper soup, it was such a great delight, and our joy and excitement came to the brim, yes our joy was full after clearing our plate of rice and chicken pepper soup lol.



Have you ever been excited about preparing a particular dish? Was it a local dish or an intercontinental dish? What sparked up the excitement? Do you often enjoy your cooking and have fun while doing that? Or you only cook because it is mandatory and necessary and not really because you enjoy it?
Tell me about your cooking experiences as well.
And thanks for taking out the time to read through my post and for stopping by my blog today. See you guys around!.



Still your baby girl ;)


To my faithful readers and wonderful sponsors, my heart goes out to you guys. Thank you for making my journey here a fun-filled and exciting one. Thanks for trusting and supporting my work too. I pray that God blesses you all real good :)



          14 April 2022
               @
            Wednesday

2
$ 0.34
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
1 year ago
Topics: Cooking, Free writing, Recipe, Love, Life, ...

Comments

The hardest part for me is the removing of the intestines of the chicken,and also removing the feathers. But I like chicken so much,it's one of my most favorite dish of all, good thing you knew how to do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, that is the major work here, removing the feathers and opening up the stomach and carefully taking out the intestines.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I relate to this with my mom zelly. She's really expert on this. Sometimes I help mom preparing the ingredients too but she was the one who prepared the chicken. We always cooked a chicken soup by this zelly. It's really delicious. It's perfect viand.😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, that's very cool you know?. Yeah chicken soup tastes so great

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes zelly chicken soup is super satisfying. 🤤😊❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its not easy to kill and cleaned the kitchen😅everytime we get some chicken I am scared to kill it ,My husband will do that and I am the one who cooked the chicken for our viand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, I understand. Most people don't do the killing

$ 0.00
1 year ago