The Breakup

0 11
Avatar for zellypearl
3 years ago

Walking out of the coffee shop was the last moment I could remember with Jeffrey. I did all I could to save the relationship but nothing seemed to be working.

Every time I was reminded of a place and the world I came from. I was no fit for Jeff, at least that was the only thing his mom kept throwing at my face each time she finds me and Jeff together. *“When will you ever know your place, Celine”?*

I don’t place my dignity on what people say or think of me but jeff’s mom constantly made me lower my self-esteem than it was already.

All my life, my dignity, and self-worth were something I never toyed with, so I wasn’t gonna let Jeff’s mom ruin that for me simply because I loved his son.

Love is a good element in every relationship and so is trust and faithfulness, but I was never going to sell my dignity for a dose of insults.

I am not from a wealthy family like Jeff’ but I am not poor neither.

My dad is an engineer in a renounce company and my mom owns a big boutique she is managing very well with paid workers to help her.

With that, I am well taken care of and my academic and social needs/expenses were met even before I started working.

We weren’t poor and we still aren’t poor yet Samantha, Jeff’s mom always made it seem as if we were some piece of rags compared to their wealth and riches.

If money makes one insolent, rude, arrogant, impolite, and all sorts of things then I rather become poor, but if I can be wealthy without displaying all those negative or bad attitudes then I need to prove some of the rich and wealthy people with characters wrong. This was my mission the night I walked out on Jeff.

I loved Jeff very much and there was nothing anyone could do to change that, but rather than just the love, there was a mission I needed to embark on and this mission wasn’t only for myself but me and Jeff.

If I was going to save our relationship then I needed to get up and do something about it. Jeff could go the extra miles for me, but I didn’t want to be the reason a drift was created between Samantha and Jeff.

Mr. Johnson, Jeff’s dad is a respectable man, the exact opposite of his wife Samantha. He rarely stays at home due to the nature of his work. He is a businessman and he travels a lot for business meetings and meets up in different places around the globe.

Mr. Johnson loved his son Jeff very much and he also took me as his daughter. He blessed the day I and Jeff started seeing each other and anticipated the day we both would finally get married.

*What was I going to tell Mr. Johnson about my breakup with his son?*

*What will be his reaction to this shocking news?* I knew he wasn’t going to take it lightly either treat the matter with patience and mercy.

I wasn’t gonna ruin the good relationship I had with Jeff’s dad. I didn’t intend or plan to hurt him neither disappoint him.

I asked Jeff for a favor, no! rather I asked him to grant me a wish of not telling his dad about our breakup.

He declined, hoping I would change my mind because of that, although he also knew that whenever I set my mind on something, there was no going back on it. I wasn’t bothered nor disturbed about Jeff’s declination because I trusted him too well not to go against my wishes.

The day I broke up with Jeff, I told him there were some things I needed to sort out about myself as such I needed to be alone. I wasn’t hurt in any way and I wasn’t planning to hurt Jeff either. He agreed to give me the time I needed for myself while I work on saving our relationship in disguise.

The next morning I woke up to a slight headache, I reached out for a glass of water that was placed on the table closed to my bedside. I took a sip from the glass and put it back

I checked my alarm clock, it was already past 7 am, I quickly rushed out of bed and had my breakfast and bath, dressed up, and set out for work.

I was working as a bank secretary and I needed to be in the office before 7:30 am.

I got to the office at exactly 7:20 am before the manager arrived.

Just when I settled to begin my daily work, I received a message alert on my mobile phone. I didn’t bother checking since I had a lot of work placed on my table already, so I needed to get to it before attending to the message on my phone.

Little did I know that the message I got was from Jeff. He wanted to inform me about some dinner we will be having with his dad later in the evening. His dad wasn’t in town so coming back, he decided to have a dinner hangout and I was specially invited.

I was perplexed when I read the message later when I was off work and was already at home. I couldn’t help but wonder what I was going to do about the message I received.

Should I just ignore the message and give excuses? Should I accept the invite or rather should I decline? After all, I and jeff aren’t seeing each other again, but then it was supposed to be a secret between both of us.

If I decline, what explanation or excuse would I give to Mr. Johnson for not coming or why I declined?

I had to do something about it or better still accept my fate one more time and meet up with Jeff for the dinner night.

It is just dinner so I don’t think anything could go wrong. I mean one dinner night wouldn’t harm a single soul would it?

After much consideration and analysis, I decided I was going for dinner, and nothing would go wrong being that I was fully prepared for anything.

* At Mr. Johnson’s House *

*Hello, there my princess!*

*Good evening Mr. Johnson, Hi Jeff.*

Celine greeted both Mr. Johnson and her Ex Jeff and then helped herself to a seat.

Jeff rushed to help her settle down so that it won’t be too obvious that something was up with them.

While they were still eating in the absence of Samantha, Celine suddenly asked of her not because she longed for her presence but because it was a polite thing to do.

*She is out of town, Jeff responded.*

How are the two of you faring? Mr. Johnson asked Celine and Jeff. they looked at each other and chorused, we are doing fine Sir/dad.

That is good news then because I have something for both of you.

This time, they both became worried because they couldn’t think of anything that Mr. Johnson could get for the both of them that he couldn’t give them individually, why use the phrase *both of you?*

While they were still pondering on what it was, Mr. Johnson slipped his hands into his side pocket and brought out a shiny little box wrapped with red ribbon.

What could that be? They all wondered.

*Please let it not be what I am thinking,* Celine, prayed within her.

You see, while on my tour during one of my business trips, I got my eyes on this, and then I thought it would make a good gift for the both of you.

He placed the box on the dining table and asked them to take it, open and have a look at it if they wanted to.

Jeff picked up the box first and opened it, his eyes couldn’t believe what he saw. He raised his head to look at Celine. She looked confused and wondered why jeff had such a look on his face.

She grabbed the box from Jeff and she received the greatest shock of her life; An engagement Ring

What? Not now! Celine thought, but what was she going to do to save herself from this situation she already found herself.

She let out a long sigh and this made Mr. Johnson ask if there was a problem or if they didn’t like the present.

They both struggled with words to say NO. Celine responded that she was just surprised and asked Mr. Johnson why he bought them a ring.

Don’t be silly my daughter. You guys are going to get married any time soon so isn’t it wise to get you two an engagement ring while preparing for the ceremony two weeks from now?

Two Weeks? Celine shouted! Yes, dear, you two will be getting engaged two weeks from now.

Image

@zellypearl

1
$ 2.01
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
3 years ago

Comments