More Than Emotions ~ What Is Love To You?

15 32
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

I once bumped into a contest about giving your own definition of love or any self-made quote on love that cannot be found on the internet or any other site.
I thought about participating but then when I looked at all the definitions and quotes in my mind, unfortunately, all were found somewhat found on either the internet, from a book, in the Bible, and so on.
So I was like, "oh well, this isn't for me" or maybe perhaps I don't have one definition of love, and to us love means different and so many things.
Depending on how love met you or how you met it, either way, there is always something unique to say about love.

So if I am to throw the same question to you all here, I doubt how many will pass that test. I mean the test of giving your own definition of love or quote on love that cannot be found anywhere else.

Sad and funny enough, so many people can define love and give instances but can we honestly say all those definitions are what we have experienced ourselves?
How do you tell someone that love is Patient when you aren't patient?
How do you say love is kind whereas you aren't kind or should I like it seems like kindness is not even your portion?.
How about those who say love is unconditional but come to think of all the conditions they will give you all in the name of the same love they said is unconditional.

So you see, most times, people only say what they don't have or haven't experienced for themselves.
Some say love is honest, yet they are very dishonest with their words and conducts.

Well, there are many approaches to love, both the experienced and inexperienced.
But if I am to tell you what I think and feel about love, here I will mention a few;

PURPOSE

More than anything, I define love as purpose. When the purpose of something is not known then abuse is inevitable. I can't and I don't want to waste my days, my years, my energy, my resources, and all where there is no purpose.
For me, love without purpose is a complete waste of time and everything.
Love to me, is finding the purpose of something, why and how you wanna make that thing work. It is knowing that you aren't jumping from one place to another because when you have a purpose and you know what is required of you and with that, you will be steady and remain focused.
Why am I feeling this way? Is there a reason for this emotion at this present state? Could it be that there is something I need to do about it? Nurture it? Grow it? Or better still kill it?

FUN

I do tell people how much I hate a boring life. Anything too serious, I am not in for. I am easily identified with fun because I love having fun.
Love to me is fun. I mean if you can't enjoy whatever it is you feel, then of what use is it?.
We had better remain emotionless if there isn't any fun to love.

Come on, for crying out loud, talk, joke, play, and have fun sometimes. I don't know how people do it but this girl is not in for an uptight, serious, and boring life.
You might kill my vibes before I even know it lol and I don't like it when people tend to turn off my spark. No way! I give no room for that. The least thing love can offer me is fun

GROWTH

If love isn't helping me grow then what is it doing? And of what use is it?.
Love should be able to tell you that you aren't doing well in this area and that you need to step up.
Love is looking past the level you were yesterday and making advances to better your life.

If someone is intentional about your growth in life then you should know that indeed that person truly cares for you. The growth can be either mentally, spiritually, emotionally, financially, educationally, and more. I have met a handful of such people in life which I am grateful for and to some of those people, I always feel so sorry for letting them down.

CRAZY

Hahahahaha, I kinda find this one funny though.
Love is crazy at times. It is acting funny and in an unusual way once in a while. It's wholeheartedly communicating your craziness with someone without being judged or being turned off.

I can't say much about this cause talking about it alone can be very crazy and at this moment I am in my right state of mind to communicate such craziness 😄😅

ASSURANCE

Love assures I hope you know this one. I am certain you do.
Things aren't going well or very smoothly.
You didn't get that job or promotion?
Your parents couldn't help you with certain things in life.
You failed in one business or project you were handling but it's okay, all is going to be well

You are still here and in good health and shape.
There is still hope and that is all that matters.
That is assurance and it is what love looks like to me.

It's grabbing someone and telling them everything is fine even in their despair.
It's telling people how amazing they are even with their little flaws.
It's assuring them that all will work out fine in the end if they just believed and have faith. This is love to me.


There are so many other ways I define love but at this point, I wanna rest my case and also hear from you guys. What you feel love is.
I want to also know what love means to you. What can you say or tell a person about love?
Or better still, how do you easily identify love when you see it?



If you don't mind, kindly give your opinion on this topic. Let's see how many can truly express what love is especially from experience and not what people have told them about love or want they have read about love.
So go on, let's hear you guys out.



Thank you for sparing this article some minutes of your time, I truly appreciate your presence here and your contributions matter to me too.



Image

8
$ 6.07
$ 5.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

Based on this, I can see you are an outgoing person in real life. I wonder, if I had a friend like you, maybe it would be a balance to my introverted, sometimes boring self. About love, I think I made an article about it some days ago. It is a complicated thing to me. You want to check it out and let me know if you agree to my own ideas of it hahaha!

The title is *"A Complicated Four-Letter Word."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Do you know I am also introverted? And shy too. But most people doubt me when they come in contact with me or very close to me because they feel I am extroverted . Maybe an extroverted introvert hahahaha. Sure I will check it out and know what you said about love too.

I don't know how I usually miss your articles. Maybe I didn't subscribe to you and I thought I did, so sorry🤭😃 I will do that now so that I won't be missing your posts unconsciously again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is okay! Hahaha! I have been inactive recently anyway. Thanks for checking out my post. I appreciate it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our exposure and experience in life shape our idea of what we think love is. Love is relative to most people and I agree, love should be all that you have listed above. Love should be about a common goal or purpose in mind - to please each other. It is a call to endless sacrifice and commitment. Love shows consideration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like someone has a lot to say about love and you talk like you have a lot of experience with love 🙂 It would be nice to read from your experience on love or what you think lol. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha I love talking about love and relationships... I am also a relationship coach. 🥰😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I sensed it. No wonder

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. 🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should've joined the competition. Your definition of love is impressive.

I really like the "fun" part. It's not love when it's no longer fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should have, right? Indeed I love fun so I can't imagine love without fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love has different definitions to different people. Personally I believe love is a gift we all have in us to give out. To someone with different heartbreak will call love a Fluke,a disguise way of getting what one want from another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Love has different meanings to different people as I said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love has long been expressed in different ways by people including everything you have said here. I also believe love is agreement. When you signed an agreement, it means you have decided to give it all it takes to work on it and give a good result at the end. That's just how love is. When you love, it's like signing an agreement to always stand by such person and be the best to him or her.

Thanks for sharing your perspective about love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreement? Nice one. I guess when I experience this perspective of love. I will add it to my list or better still update my library lol. Thanks for stopping by princess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome darling

$ 0.00
2 years ago