What kills micro businesses

0 37
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

What is Business?

Business is the activity of making one's living or making money by producing or buying and selling products (such as goods and services).[1][2][need quotation to verify][3][4] Simply put, it is "any activity or enterprise entered into for profit."[5]

source:(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Business)

Looking Back

Since I got a phone, I am really spending a lot on loads. Actually, my first phone was a nokia3310. It's a hand-me-down from my cousin whose mother is a teacher, which is first given to my sister, and when she was in college and bought a new phone, she handed it down to me. It was worn out and my mother had to pay a technician to fix it so I could use it. I was in the tenth grade at that time and I really am amazed at having a phone and was can it do. I'm an introvert person so I don't really say much. I thought having friends through the phone is better. Also, the cheapest prepaid load that time was 15pesos and I have to cut the rice that I have to buy. ( I was really sorry for doing this to my parents ).

Fast forward to where I am consuming loads fast, I had my husband as a boyfriend that time, and I got used to him accompanying me even through texts only. We spent time texting each other even at midnight. There is a 15 peso load that can be registered into two days unlimited texts and a ten minutes of calls. . Imagine if I do the math we both spend 450 pesos in a month. Time moved fast, we had a family and I got the job. My husband had a job too but I wanted to have a business and because of my story above, I wanted to sell load.

First Attempt

There was an old loader sim that I have and loaded it. I have to go to the loading station 15kilometers away and I have to pay for 15 pesos in one way just to buy the load. That would be 30 pesos back and forth and my profit was only 12 percent of what I buy. My budget is only 60 pesos so my calculated profit will be 72 pesos only minus the fare. Everything was going well but then my sister buys load now but pays later. she is crediting the load that I sell and pays whenever she has money. This means that my investment was decreased with what she is credited. Sometimes, there will be times that I don't have money and I needed something that I have to use the money from my loading business. One day, it all ended like a bubble left in the sun.

Second Attempt

February 1, 2019, when I got transferred to our feed mill department. I was exposed to Facebook Market Places and found a post about an EPinoy loading business. I have to pay 200 pesos for the registration and bought 150 pesos of load. It was booming at first, but since I am working, only my colleagues were my customers and my family. Again, they credited the load that I sold, and then again, I went off. It pains me a lot you know. I wanted an extra income but it failed, I thought maybe I was bad at having a business. This time, a friend channeled a loading business which also died. I remember her borrowing money from me, it was only 500 pesos, I guess she forgot that she borrowed or maybe she did not. Well, it's up to her. Sometimes, I really feel like I have to borrow from her and not ay. Haha, what a bad idea that I have.

I was replenishing the load and I pay my supplier online through paymaya app. Later in my investigation, I found out that I can replenish the load myself without her help. I mean sending funds to her costs a fortune, and it takes time too. Sometimes, when she is at a graveyard shift, I have to disturb her slumber to just buy and replenish the load. By the way, enough of the story, this business was gone before I could have a profit of 200 pesos.

Third attempt

A co-worker was looking for Gcash to send his money with and since I have one, I offered mine and then he said if I could sell load, the two pesos charge will be mine. I agreed with the proposal until I loaded my wallet and sell the load on my own. Later, a co-crocheter introduced me in noise.cash, and I earned more than one thousand and converted it into peso. I don't know how to trade that time and decided that I should sell it as load to my husband's nephew and nieces. But the thing again is that they will get load from me and pay it in the end of the month. Again, I will say that it was doing good at first, until I run out of the money that I invested. I don't even see my profit. I estimated that the investment that was lost the third time is more hat 5k already. Quite a fortune isn't it? Although I might think that I lost it in the loading business, I might have bought my needs with it.

Thankful Despite All

Despite all of the above, I am really thankful that I have tried and failed. I might as well teach myself not to think of it as a loss, I might have used it in another thing. Really, I am bad at managing money.

Lesson Learned

The lesson that I learned in my three attempts is that NEVER STOP STARTING. I might get the business successful someday. I learned also that I should keep records on where the money went and what I spent it with. Also, I have to tell the one who has credit to me that they owe me something. Well, I could not force anyone to buy loads with cash, I would rather lose money than lose the relationship I have with my family.

Conclusion

In all my attempts, Debt is what killed mi micro business. It killed the business until it couldn't stand up. Inmy experience in my localit, even sari-sari stores were killed by he debt/credit.

lead image from salesforce.com

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

Comments