In loving Memory: a wonderful testimony

0 15
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 months ago

[source](https://www.facebook.com/joel.lastimosa.7146)

My father and mother in their tender years. They met after the 2ndWW in Lanao Sur and begun a family as peacetime takes the time of war in the Philippines.

Preferring to be a farmer than a fighting soldier, my father came to Manolo Fortich to raise his family of one wife, nine boys and two girls one of which died 4 days after birth.

A little later added to his family was his new found faith based upon the Bible, as was taught by then, the Rev. Alejandro Nunez.

His faith though not hitch he used to sacrifice impressive, was I believe real as passages of scriptures became a part of his confession, declaration and defense from false teachings. Hymns about salvation, Christian living and worship are his companions when he does night time works and early morning preparations. I used to hear him hummed, sung and made Melodies by whistling common Christian hymns. They are still vivid in my memories.

I made mention of some of the memories of this man, my father, because I believe, that without his dedication, duty and daring steps of raising ten kids my life would be different from what I am today.

I saw in him strength, which he utilized to sacrifice to support us. He forfeited sometimes food just to see us fed, he imprisoned himself in the farm just produce something for our need. And now at present I am living with my family at the heritage he left me.

With this bit of thought. I thank God for giving me a father like him who today would be 101 yo in his earthly life. The Lord was pleased to take him home last March 11, 2006

---

That above is my uncle's Facebook post last night. He is a pastor and I am delighted about his testimony that our beloved grand father had influenced him of what he had become today.

God indeed is marvelous and full of wonder and he is great and mighty. He knows every heart and plans for each of our lives including our sons and daughters.

I am eternally grateful to God that I was included in His plans on receiving salvation by believing the Lord Jesus Christ as my savior and because of that I have a place in heaven when He returns.

I admit I have setbacks and lapses to God over the years, doing things I ought not to but to Him I am ever grateful that He is very merciful and had poured me and my family blessings, making ends meet and protecting us from harm all these years.

I could say too, that if not for my grandfather, my life would be very different from what I had today. He worked so hard to provide for his family, and left his heirs land to divide. sadly, due to my grand mother's favoritism and unfair dominion over her children, my uncles are now fighting dividing whatever the latter had left as some of them wanted all of it for themselves.

Christianity is never an assurance that one will live fairly and does not step on his brother's feet just to go be on top. But God sees everything and He knows how to reward and punish.

I could not put all my emotions in words and it will not fit on this post as I have trained myself in keeping hem in the farthest of my mind but every day, the pile grows every time I hear about what some of the uncles had done. Sorry I got driven with my thoughts

---

It had been 101 years since my grand father was born but we lost him on 2006 at 83 years old. He was bed ridden for a while and his wife did not treat him well. It was very painful that we could not even see him because of her hatred to us. Yet I could not do anything as it was in the past.

Last night I was deep in thought and I realized that my grandfather's greatest gift to us was his influence about God and how he found happiness in Christ. That is more than any price which gold cannot buy and will never be taken from us.

---

My uncle's son's birthday was yesterday and they went to my mother's house to celebrate it together with my grandpa's birthday and my nephew's birthday which was on Feb 16. We shared a sumptuous meal and laughter as we talked about life and how it went over the years.

Some people are just worth celebrating and this made me wonder if my kids would do the same when I'm gone. I hope they will share the priceless gift I had from my grandfather and will be assured of their souls.

---

I hope this made sense. I am trying to get out of my shell and pouring out every thing that keeps my heart heavy over the years. If you have reached this far, thanks you so much for your effort, time and support. Keep safe and may God bless us all

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 months ago

Comments