Cassava planting: I did the cooking

8 58
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Farming, Photography, Life, Food, Cooking, ...

Hello, read.cash friends, I was out yesterday and I think I ever even visited a post here because I had lots of activities on my plate. We planted cassava on my mother's farm even after the argument we had following the last article that I made last Saturday. By the way, thank you for the concern and prayers of my friends who help me get through it.

For now, let me share with you my experience in planting cassava on the sloppy part that my mother gave us, well, not really give give but maybe borrow will be a more suitable word.

I have posted this here before but only the short version of how I got dirty after sliding through a muddy part of the stream.

How we got there

The day started with a gloomy sky, it looks like it could rain any minute but I was thankful because it was not so hot when we work later. This cassava plantation that I took pictures of is from the farm that we passed through on the way to Nanay's house where we left Czak for the day.

We bought gas and my husband decided we get the sweet potatoes from his friend. They are funny because they a lot of them wanted to give but we only had a little bag so one told us to bring the sack with us.

The road was clear and lots of bikers were biking along.

The husband left the motorcycle at a friend's house but when he went past a bumpy part, the chain got lose and the wheel cannot rotate well. I asked if he needed help but he said no.

I took time to take pictures around. There is stagnant water on the side of the road and it looks dangerous. It was even overflowing on the lower portion of the road. It smells bad due to the piggery that was above.

Can you see the green water? I was told once that when water is green, there would probably be an alligator living in the water. But this is not true for this one.

I took a selfie, I did not take a bath nor washed my face because my husband is hurrying to come early to the farm. I look so messy in here.

It took longer and I came near him deciding we will fix it later and bring something strong as metal from the farm.

The Lakturanan(short cut)

We could have gone to the farm by motorcycle but since the fuel price hiked more than half of the usual price, we decided to take it this way. large clearing welcomed us after the bushy entrance.

The area is a slope and no one planted here for many years until my husband got interested in renting the place from my cousin. For now, this is where most people who have cattle tether their beasts to feed.

The trail is more visible, my mother rand kids are going this way almost every afternoon when they come to the farm too.

I took a selfie of me and my husband who is carrying the sweet potatoes on his shoulder. It must have been very heavy.

Wooh, after a few minutes, we are near the farm! Horray!

That brown on the picture is the land that my mother allowed us to till.

My husband easily got down the stream and warned me to remove my slippers but I did not listen to him and slid through.

Pak! that's the sound I heard as my butt slapped the ground. I got my hands dirty and washed the water.

Thsi is the picture of my dirty hind. I should have listened to my husband. Way back when I was younger, it was easy peasy for me, I guess I have gotten really old for it.

The Guavas

Just a few steps from the "payag, there is a guava tree that has bear lots of fruits that some even fell off the ground because birds are trying to eat them.

Look at its abundance!

Chili-Venigar

Look ! this caught my attention; there are lots of chilies inside it and a little enigar. Loloy, my husband's cousin brought this here so that he will have lots of apertite to eat.

It must have been so old that the chilies burst and the seeds got out. I never tried eating with this as sawsawan, I know it will be very hot on the tongue.

Since it is past ten, I was advised by my husband to cook the food early. So I did! I cooked the rice first and the n the viand followed.

Ain't my kitchen so cute? Ans the firewood here is unlimited and free; all you have to do is chop and dry them.

I sauteed the pork feet and put lot of water to boil and soften the meat.

Tadaaaan! It's ready. But I just did the cooking and Tiban corrector the flavor. Honestly, I'm not good at cooking.

We ate under the mango tree, and to us, it is eating outside just literally. haha.

The pets

Here is Jackelyn and Jackenie, yup, that's what my kids call the puppy. She has a brother but died after he was born. They are waiting for me to get the food ready.

Here is Mitra, this chicken that has feathers like beard but too bad I wasn't able to get a good picture of her face

This an 80% bantam chicken; and it has feathers like a crown.

Here is Jackenie feeding from her mom.

Jackenie is such a sweet pup.

The Laborers

the woman and the young boy are siblings and the man was her boyfriend.

Above are Tiban and Loloy.

And below are the lovers and they are quite showy; don't you think so?

So this would be the first part of our cassava planting. I had a great time having done so much even if cooking is not really the reason why I came here. I hope to publish the second part of the wonderful experience.

By the way, thanks to these amazing sponsors of mine.

Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty

Hit the like button when you like my post. Thank you for your time

7
$ 0.03
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
$ 0.01 from @MaritessNgBuhayMo
$ 0.01 from @Shahid_Raza
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Farming, Photography, Life, Food, Cooking, ...

Comments

Reading this made me happy since it brought back memories of when I used to live in the country with my parent. Since farming was our primary occupation, we go there every day. We also have a home farm where we can sit, prepare food, dine, and unwind after a long day. It is enjoyable and yet memorable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabuti at naalala mo yun dahil sa post ko lods sarap nang buhay sa bukid kaso sa panahon gayon kapag yun nalang ang pinagkakakitaan mo di na dapat lalo at seasonal yung mga pananim mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

En el campo de mis abuelo se siembra mucha yuca, a parte del frijol y la batata, en el patio hay plantas de guayaba mango, que fino es pasar un fin de semana en el campo disfrutando de la bella naturaleza.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

En el campo de mis abuelo se siembra mucha yuca, a parte del frijol y la batata, en el patio hay plantas de guayaba mango, que fino es pasar un fin de semana en el campo disfrutando de la bella naturaleza.

Me alegro de que puedas relacionarte conmigo. seguro que es precioso pasar un rato en familia y en la naturaleza

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember we also used to plant cassava in our school garden. Reading your article brings back old memories of me during my elementary days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Im glad I did, i hope those are good old memories that i digged up with my article..

Its; been a while since I have been in the farm because I have hectic schedule on my work. We just had to have additional income for the future of my kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I enjoyed reading this, it reminds of the day I was living with my parents in the countryside. Farm was our main occupation, so we visit farm almost on a daily basis. We have housefarm too where we sit, cook food, eat and rest when we are tired. It's always funšŸ„°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yup. itis fun but tiring too especially when you do the work yourself. it's good that I reminded you fo what you did back then. What happened to the farm land now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago