ATM (ayo ta ma)

0 12
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

Hello dear readers, it's kind of a miracle that I have tme for pjone right now. Haha the kids were asleep, but I am not, not like those past days that I sleep before the kids do.

I lost another idea again. Earlier, I was thinking about what I am gonna write but it was gone before I was even able to jot it down. Earlier, I got a reply from my previous article about getting a pen and paper so when my kids will borrow the phone or as I get them to sleep, I will be able to write it but I was worried that it will only poke my kids, just incase it will be misplaced for they are all so kulit plus they will just definitely borrow the pen and try to write, my notes will be even at risk for their doodles and lost it. So there, I cannot use ballepen and pen to jot down my ideas for my kid's safety.

So back to the title, have you ever heard of a human ATM? I mean your mother? Here in Mindanao, or we'll, maybe in Visayas too for they speak cebuano/bisaya, ATM has been a trend when I was in highscool, at that time, ATM machines are only few and are found only in the City. But as a student, I always ask my mother money for allowance and for projects.

Anyway, Aya Ta Ma means

mom, can I ask for money?

Projects had been a lot during that time so a classmate of mine who has been always asking money for her mother was told, that she (her mother) is not an ATM than when pressed or commanded that to give money, it will immediately give. It goes like this in bisaya

Paghilat ug tagaan taka ug kwarta kay di baya ko ATM nga kung tuplokon mali ang dayun ug kwarta!

Well, Mothers are are always mothers, you know, we eventually understand them because they have their own stresses in life, especially in money. Budgeting little amount of money is never easy, really.

Maybe this phrase has been in trend at that time (mobile phones do not have data connection as far as I can remember and the only way to Facebook was going to Internet cafés but it is friendster that was popular at that time, and maybe yahoo messenger ) but we all know that ang kagagohan ay madaling ikalat, right?

I even hear this kind of maybe sarcasm or whatever to call this phrase nowadays especially those nagging kids who cannot understand thier parents that they have to wait for them to give their wants because money is very hard to make and find.


My co worker, sir Greg is the one that says this a lot especially when the corn sellers will follow up on when the cheques will be released five minutes after giving their documents to him. He is girl at heart and so he nags a lot, sometimes he even told them in a half joke half angry manner that he will give them a blank cheque. I understand him because making a cheque is never easy, one letter that will be written mistakenly will mark the cheque void, plus a single cheque needs two people to sign for it to be valid, and sometimes, one is away and they have to wait for him to get it done. Besides, one will feel pressured when someone is looking at them to get it done.

So ther it is, that's my boring story for ATM.

Gotta sleep, good night folks, don't forget to pray.

Lovelots, Yoi❤️

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

Comments