Is Window Dressing legal?

0 19
Avatar for yanyan13
3 years ago

Legislatively, “window dressing” in accounting is legal because it doesn’t violate any of the existing laws, however, in my own perspective, it is immoral. It is common knowledge that business and capitalism come hand in hand but this shall not create a wall that will impede our will to do and choose what’s right just to provide what’s best for the business alone.

Each of the businesses has a target to be on the top and so do we, humans, we have a goal to be higher than any injustices and wrongs because in certainties wherein the written law couldn’t provide us a guidance and direction to whichever is appropriate, deep within us, we know what is right and we know that choosing right is the best thing we can do for whatever it’s worth for.

Having the position to alter and enhance the amounts of a financial statement in order to make it attractive to the third persons doesn’t give us the right to rob the truth from them and manipulate their decisions. Actually, window dressing cannot conceal the false presentation because this is only for short-term. Business is fluid – everything changes from time to time and I believe that staying competitive in the field can be done without harming others and neglecting our own principles.

That being said proves that not everything legal is also moral because the law doesn’t cover the entirety of our actions and that’s why we have our own moral beliefs. Not a business entity shall pave a way in putting a dirt to our conscience just because it doesn’t constitute to a crime.

As accountant who realizes the deficiencies of the law, I use my moral beliefs as my guiding principle in setting my limitations in how far I can deliver my job without destroying my integrity. Making deceptive statements is a form of dishonesty and I didn’t spend years in school just to push myself to become falsifier. This is why entities shall have firm values and ensure that these are intact to everyone with regards to their job.

Accountancy has provisioned a wide set of principles, concepts, and procedures for every situation that an accountant may encounter in the field of work – all of these are exact and accurate. Whatever an accountant may perform which is beyond the standards of accounting is occurring by virtue of his will.

Every amount presented, no matter how big or small, is crucial for it serves as the basis in making decisions. It is purely unethical to mislead any amount; may it be in favor for the business or for myself. Overriding what is supposed to happen isn’t part of my responsibility and I cannot perform such act. I can establish my commitment to my job but I don’t allow unfairness in the system. This isn’t some kind of opportunity that I could grab and take advantage with for the reason that there’s a freeway – my name may not get stained but my hands will surely will.

I consider myself a professional, thus, I cannot permit what I know is wrong to dominate what I believe in is right. Nothing is worse than being highly educated but cannot stand a ground and assert for truthfulness.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Mjv2
Avatar for yanyan13
3 years ago

Comments