My Answers to Movie-Related Questions

0 18
Avatar for wrabbiter
3 years ago

Why can’t Marvel and DC combine their movies and TV shows into the same universe?

It would be truly amazing to see the likes of Superman and Batman within the same live-action universe along with Spider-Man and Captain America. But like marrying Quantum Mechanics with Relativity, joining them together would create lots of disastrous outcomes.

The problem could be about matters of character licensing, creative control, ownership rights, and some other aspects that you would have to be a lawyer to completely understand them.

In my opinion, DC should just go back to making single movie trilogies for each of their superheroes because they did a real fine job with Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight series. They must not try to engage in a head-on collision with Marvel… MCU is already on the “Invincible Giant Status!”

This is just an opinion though. Chill, DC fans.

What can Captain America do without his shield? Why is he even considered a superhero?

Because of the strength of character that he has been possessing all along, even before he underwent that science treatment, he can do a lot of things:

  • Inspire other heroes, or any ordinary humans to be the best that they can be.

  • Outwit even the most powerful supervillains because of his clever tactical skills.

  • Overpower nearly anyone with his unflagging determination.

So why has he considered a superhero? Because a superhero by definition doesn’t really mean “superpowered.” Anyone who belongs to the superhero category is mainly defined by character and accomplishment. In these 2 categories, Steve Rogers excels amazingly at a level where very few heroes ever did.

Would it be better if the next 007 Agent be portrayed as a female character?

While I like the idea of reinventing characters from time to time, I strongly disagree with the idea that the next James Bond should be female. Not that I’m sexist, it’s just that since 007 is male, he should be a man and must never be reincarnated differently.

We all want a great bad-ass female character to grace the screens once in a while, no argument in that. But to address such a need, filmmakers must adapt a new character on screen. There are dozens of great female characters from novels and comics that are still relatively unknown, but compelling nonetheless.

Better yet, they may just invent new female superspy characters, not reinvent a character who’s already established for many decades.

Some female super-agents already graced the silver screens all over the world and I don’t mind them re-imagined (read- Best TV-Movie Femme Fatale) to be similar to James Bond, as long as such re-imagining is executed with top-class artistry.

James Bond is a man, period. He doesn’t need to be a white guy at all times. He just has to remain masculine because that’s what he truly is.

What story elements are you most delighted but most tired of seeing in anime or manga?

I’m delighted by the recurring anime element of making the protagonist truly heroic and sacrificial that he/she would give up his own happiness and own life just to save someone. Well, that is where you can find the appeal of anime and comic books anyway.

What I’m so tired of seeing are very young characters, (children even) who always seem to be hundreds of times smarter than their adult counterparts. I can take it when they are overly powerful than the adults but smarter and wiser? It’s getting harder for me to buy that.

It’s kinda cool when there are few of them who’s like that, but the way I see it, the realm of anime is already bloated with such characters.

Why do movies seem to portray that Superman is dumber than Batman?

Because that’s just the simple truth. Superman is actually just dumber than Batman.

But since Batman is just too intelligent compared to most humans, Superman is still far too intelligent compared to others.

I think it’s just a matter of how the writers depict Superman’s intellect. I have no problem with Superman being smarter than Batman or anyone else for that matter. If Kal-El or Clark Kent is supposed to be smarter than Batman, then why not write a majority of stories that would prove it to be true?

So who’s smarter, Batman or Superman?

I’m saying it’s Batman, because that’s what I read and see, most of the time anyway.

What movies can you watch all the time and never get tired of watching?

Call it some crazy nostalgia, call it plain bad taste, but I never get tired of watching the original live-action adaptation of The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

As a kid of the ’90s, the Turtles had a great impact on my life. They are my first true action heroes, they taught me the value of friendship and brotherhood!

As I got a little older, I started to read Marvel and DC comics and dug on the campy and b-grade style movies during the mid-’90s. Of course, I never truly understood the meaning of A movie or B movie or whatever movie grading then.

During those years, I also fell in love with Star Wars and had this weird feeling that I was a Jedi from another planet, sent to Earth on a very crucial mission. No kidding, I really had that feeling! Stupid, I know. But I was a wee little man then.

Now as a full-grown adult and on my first steps towards middle-aging, I matured sensibility-wise, and couldn’t stop myself from re-watching The Dark Knight, The Godfather, and The Jason Bourne Trilogies.

From time to time, every year or two, I still re-watch the aforementioned movie series. I love them, I really do love them.

Sadly though, I still couldn’t figure out why I can’t fall in love with the Marvel Cinematic Universe or other similarly-themed movies the way I fell in love with the ones I mentioned above. Is it because I’m growing old? Or is it just movies today are not that good anymore?


1
$ 5.06
$ 5.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of wrabbiter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for wrabbiter
3 years ago

Comments