Dealing With The Beauty Standards of Society

2 66
Avatar for whitney123
2 years ago
source: google

I'm busy yesterday so I can't write any article. Good Evening everyone! I hope you have a nice day earlier. Anyway, do you feel insecure to yourself or physical appearance?

Sponsors of whitney123
empty
empty
empty

As I entered in junior high school before, that was the first time that I felt insecure about myself. I understand that this is normal as part of puberty stage or a growing process of a person. But, as what I’ve observed in this generation that we can only gain a lot of friends, treat us better, respect us if we’re good looking person or beautiful. Like, they are more focus on the beauty standards of the person than the attitudes. Teens nowadays are under pressure from the standard of the society and other factors. Actually, when I was in Grade 7 to Grade 9, I had a few friends because I helped them with their homework and shared ideas with them. However, slowly by slowly they are gradually forming a new circle of friends and I think I’ve already left behind. At first, I don’t mind it because, I can still communicate with them and join with their “chika’s”. But, suddenly, I’ve realized that I was just trying to “fit in” with them. Just like, I cannot express myself anymore or join with their vibes because, they make fun at me and I think that was not a jokes anymore. So, I confront them that sometimes, I already hurt from their jokes and I cannot bear with it anymore. That’s why when I was in Grade 10, I don’t know but, I started to make change to myself by starting shading my eyebrows and putting lip tint on my lips. I do also change the way I dressed and the way I styled my hair. In that way, I gained self-confident to face with them so they will never make fun at me.

You know? When I getting older or entering in maturity stage I just realized that it’s okay to be alone than to socialize with others. When I was in Grade 11, I have online friends which are my classmates and we’ve never met until now. I was trying to adjust during that time because online class is really hard if you don’t have any friends to rely or to talk that time. In some instances, I’ve become true to them like, I said that I’m just simple, I’m not pretty and I’m not famous at all. Then, they still accept me as their friend and I’m happy that I still have confident to be true and accept myself during that time. At the end, I don’t have time in thinking about my appearance because, I’m so busy enough to my studies. Hahaha.

source: google

Before, I’m afraid that they will hate me or leave me because of my physical appearance but, I don’t care about it anymore. I don’t care what other people thinks about my appearance or criticize me. As long that, I know myself more than on what they think about me and I love myself now.

You know? We don’t let other people make use our kindness or take advantage to us. We need to be confident in all aspects and shine even we are alone. We don’t need to be insecure or anxious about our physical appearance to fit the standards of the society and it’s okay to make our life in private and being alone is better than being with the wrong circle of friends who will criticize and take advantage to us.

Why do people being mean with the appearance of other people? Sometimes, kung sino pa yung di gaano maganda or gwapo, sila pa yung mahilig humusga sa kapwa nila... Mas maganda pa sa kanila yung binubully. Hahaha. Haystt. I don't really know why people trying to change and change to fit or achieve the standards of the society. That's why kapag may nakikita akong binubully, I do stand and confront them. I don't like seeing other people bullying someone dahil lang sa looks and other aspects.


I know that one day, we can realize our worth and find a true circle of friends who will accept us totally. We deserve to be happy and to be love. Remember that, we are unique individuals and we are just like moons we have scars, imperfections but still we are shinning.

Thank you for reading this one.

Have you tried to compare yourself to other people before? Like, sana ganto na lang ako chuchu? Or nakaranas kana din na e bully? (comment your thoughts po. Glad to read your personal experiences)

Thank you and God Bless Us All.

@whitney123

3
$ 1.67
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @AlphaCron
Sponsors of whitney123
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for whitney123
2 years ago

Comments

We're all beautiful in our own unique ways, it's only the social-construct of the society that makes us feel ugly which leads us to feel insecure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Insecurities sometimes is the root cause with that and dapat and mas pumapaibabaw is ang Confidence baby ... slap the vanity to the world with your smile

$ 0.00
2 years ago