Splinterlands weekly battle challenge: Goblin Shaman

0 14
Avatar for white_walker
2 years ago

Hi y’all,

This week’s star of the battle challenge is Goblin Shaman, a common fire monster available in the starter pack. Due to his weaken ability (reducing opponents health) and 4 health, together with a cost of only 3 mana it is a regular card to play in the bronze/silver/gold leagues. At lvl 3 it gains a magic attack and at lvl 5 it also has a slow ability, reducing the speed of opponents monsters.

I am playing in my 5th season of Splinterlands and I have recently decided to start investing more in the game and I am planning to buy some cards (because hey it is simply awesome to play and is a great investment, in good two months I have already more than 5x my initial investment). As a start my plan is to get one summoner at lvl between 4 and 6, which would be competitive in the silver/gold leagues. This is where I expect I will be for quite a while. The two summoners on my radar are Qid Yuff and Lyanna Natura. The current weekly battle challenge gave me one more reason to rent Qid and see how it performs in battle. Together with Qid, I have also rented Goblin Shaman lvl 5 and multiple other monsters as you can see in the picture bellow.

So let us see a few battles.

Battle 1: Qid vs Yodin Zaku

In this battle there were heavy hitters and broken arrows modifications, mana was capped at 23 and only fire, water, life and death elements could be used. I have seen my opponent used both Yodin and water in his previous battles, thus I choose Caladuum as a tank in first position. To withstand the first two blast attacks, an ability granted by Yodin, I have set chicken and ooze in second and third positions. Then came the Serpentine Spy and Kobold Miner, my main attack force to take out the opponents troops in the back. I decided to use the Goblin Shaman in the last position, to act as a shield in the back for the two main attackers besides the tank. As you can see my plan worked nicely.

Battle 2: Qid vs Wizard of Eastwood (WoE)

This was a 29 mana capped battle with spreading fury modification. I choose a standard fire tank combination of Living Lava and Fineas Rage up front, with the Goblin Shaman next, a Kobold Miner after and Lord of Fire and Spark Pixies in the back. Here I wanted to keep my Shaman alive, so that his weaken and slow abilities would apply for as long as possible. The Pixies were last because of their high speed and the flying ability, which enable them to evade enemies attacks. The WoE brought a strong lineup and have a look at the battle to see who won.

Battle 3: Qid vs Contessa L’Ament

There were two modifications in this battle, heavy hitters and rise of the commons (only common and rare cards can be used) with the mana cap at 22. I saw that my enemy used Contessa in his previous battles and because only fire and death elements could be used, I was quite sure I will fight her. Despite pretty much knowing my opponents setup, I knew it will be a hard battle. The magic mirror of her Haunted Spirit reflected my magic attacks, Contessa herself reduced my ranged attack and the Octopider reduced my melee attack. Despite all that, it came down to one unlucky miss to decide the winner. I think this was a really good battle. Let me know in the comments from the available deck above (with the commons limitation), what would you change in my lineup and why?

Final thoughts

Besides Qid, I have also rented Lyanna Natura. Qid is definitely a good summoner, but so is Lyanna and currently I am not decided yet which one to buy. From the new cards, I already have two Lava Launchers, but this card becomes really strong at lvl 3 and 4, so I need quite a few more. From the new Earth deck the Pelacor Mercenary becomes a good tank option at lvl 6, when it gets healing ability, but also here I am many cards away. Luckily renting helps a lot, so that any lineup can be obtained for at least a day. Let me know which of the two, Qid or Lyanna would you buy and why?

When it comes to the Goblin Shaman, I really like this card and I think it is a must in any fire deck in the bronze/silver/gold leagues.

If you are new to the wonderful world of Splinterlands and would like to give it a try you can sign-up using my referral link.

his was originally posted on PeakD.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for white_walker
2 years ago

Comments