You are invited

0 16
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

It is 30 minutes before my class. I’ve been looking into the blinking thing on my screen. I wanted to write a while back while chatting with my sister-in-law. But I seem to have lost touch with my thoughts. Now I am trying again. The pressure with the limited time seemed to have let my hands go on into typing.

My 5:30 class will be about cryptography. Wow! That’s just timely that we are into the crypto world. I’m punching and pressing the keyboard. Hoping that by the time we start our lesson I have already published my P.M. article.

Ooo

What is invitation? Are we really invited if we’re invited?

In a short while, we will be eating the food that I have prepared. While having my class, the people at home may just eat as they please. Those who were invited will come and are welcome. Those who were not invited can still come and are still welcome.

But what does invitation really mean? When you invite, does it mean the person is invited? Or is it just for a show?

When you invite by words or by card, you are officially making someone invited to your party or occasion. But sometimes, we feel as if we aren’t really invited to the occasion. Sometimes, we feel like we are condemned as how thick of you to have come.

I’ve experienced my own share of indifference. Those times when I invite but I do not wish for anyone to invade my house. Guess this is just natural for someone who is very aloof like me. Well, not really. I also know a lot of good characters that I put on for the sake of peace.

The past two birthdays, I’ve invited kids to my house openly and warmly. Our house was swarmed by those invited and those who were not. I was even apologetic to those who came even if they were not invited. I made an excuse that I simply wasn’t able to invite everyone as there is a great tendency of ‘forgetting’ because of the many chores needed to be done for the birthday.

Honestly when I am in the week just before my period, I become very unpleasant. I admit that I have a lot of negative traits. But I realized that it is as simple as, say your invitation if you are willing to invite people, otherwise, don’t say a thing at all. If you’re stingy with your food, don’t lay it down for the others to eat. It will not go down well because you were not willing to let them eat. Learn the lesson that what of it if others won’t eat your food? It is not a big loss on their part anyway. What is just that food that you prepare if you aren’t wholehearted offering it to the other people?

Learn to invite with a willing heart. Your food will serve its purpose if you tell others to eat at your house and at the same time happy to see them come. If you feel indisposed to let people inside your house, make it a point first that you have come to terms with willingness before inviting others. There is a big difference when people eat what you’ve offered willingly and that that you didn’t offer willingly.

You will notice that food won’t be consumed if you lay it down the table with grudge towards others. Once you prepare food for the invitees, let that food be for the invitees. Don’t retract your allocation. Be willing and wholehearted. In the end, when everything’s said and done, what’s left is the feeling that others felt. What would you have wanted others to have felt when they visited your house? What would you have wanted them to have remembered under your roof?

And think about it, do you want to eat the food that unwilling hosts prepare? Always consider the scenario that you are the invitee. What you wanted to feel, make your visitors feel. Don’t be stingy with your food. You’ve prepared it already anyway

Ooo

Well? Are you perhaps disappointed with my honesty? This is something that I have learned through the years celebrating every now and then the birthdays of my children. I hope you are a willing host and not a reserved and hostile one.

I know of people who aren’t willing to let others into their house and complain why no one wanted to go to their house. Hello? Think again. Did you open the door? It’s common sense. Or maybe, you’re just dumb and a fool into what you’re thinking. How could someone go inside your house if they don’t see an opening? Even a stupid one would see that.

Kbye! Be having a class! Thanks for reading!


P.S.: This should have been published at exactly 5:29 but my phone's connection is just sucky. I had to publish after class.

5
$ 6.85
$ 6.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @Nyctofiles
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments