VALIANT record 300 pages prompts my writing

0 19
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I am putting my fingers on the keyboard of my device. It’s been a while since I did this. What I’ve been doing for the past few months was to wait for a topic to come to mind before writing an article. But for now, let me just put these two hands on top of my keyboard and type as I think of things to say.

Coming to mind right now is the me, long ago, writing those endless names on my VALIANT record 300 pages.

I didn’t have a personal laptop or desktop before and I always needed to go to computer shops or borrow my friends’ or our faculty department’s desktop before I was able to encode whatever I needed to encode.

Teaching has always been my job and one task of a teacher is to record her students’ scores in whatever ways are approved by the school she’s working in. Way way back, we had the liberty of formatting our students’ records. But personally, I preferred laying out my format first before finally transferring it to the computer.

And so, for the meantime, I used up those pens and notebooks or whatever. I also had to satiate my love for writing, literally writing using my hands. Using my clumsy hands and awkward penmanship, I wrote down those names and scores. In addition, I wrote down whatever was there to write down. That act of writing has always given me a glorious feeling, every time.

I remember my colleagues teasing me for manually writing my students’ names on my VALIANT record 300 pages. But during those times, I didn’t mind them. I was in love with my writings and with pens and notebooks.

I still have that urge to manually write those names and all. But times have changed since. It’s more than a decade since my first year of teaching.

I was equally drawn to using all these devices that we can use to write now. Besides, times have really changed, and we have now our preformatted record system. In our school, we call our preformatted record system CRS, meaning, Class Record System. It automatically computes whatever is there to compute. I believe this is now the trend in almost every school. No more manually computing grades.

In any case, we have Microsoft Excel or similar applications that we can just use also instead of manually computing. For someone who can understand the basics of Mathematical formulas, we can just program the computation of grades using the spreadsheet.

Well, well, well, it’s still very important to not forget about what we used to do. It gives us a way to look at how we’ve come so far with technology.

I’m just amazed! At the same time, it feels nostalgic. Thinking about the past… And reminiscing.

I remember a funny and cute moment in high school. One teacher in our school had his desktop computer in his classroom. Since I was one of the students who opted to learn about the basics of Microsoft that time, I was tasked by my teacher to encode something for him. While I was encoding (I forgot what it was about), one of my classmates came to inspect what was happening. He wondered why there was no paper on where to print what I was encoding. He was thinking about the typewriter, which was still widely used during that time. We were laughing at him and we were also explaining how things worked.it worked. He was so mesmerized that he couldn’t speak when he left.

Yeah, it was a typewriter, which I had back then. Along with the famous white ink. It was very time-consuming, using the typewriter, but it was also a lot of fun! You need to be efficient in order to not have a lot of white inks on the bond paper where you are typing. Sad thing that something happened to that typewriter and it wasn’t long before I had to let it go.

Meanwhile, my older sister has had a way of going in and out of a place where there were desktop computers. She could use them for free. I took advantage of her being my sister and so her opportunity has also been my opportunity. I learned what I could and it was paying off until now. The use of Microsoft Word, Excel, Paint, among others, I am still using what I’ve practiced before.

After graduating in high school, I came here to the city to study. I mostly wrote my essays and assignments on pad papers. It was the trend before. And it was also good. Sometimes, our teachers would require us to have our assignments encoded.

I graduated from college and taught immediately in my college Alma Mater. That was the time that I was relating at the early part of this article. I still didn’t have a computer at that time and so I manually wrote those names and all and encoded them again when I have the chance to use our faculty computer, or rent a computer on computer shops.

Back to writing manually, I may have an awkward feel to manual writing but I love it anyway and as long as there is no pressure from others, I could also write nicely.

4
$ 3.65
$ 3.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments