Using songs and stories to engage our little ones

0 25
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

My daughter, approaching three, is already asking for songs and stories.

Her favorite few months ago was, "I see the moon and the moon sees me, God bless the moon and God bless me..."

Photo Source

These days, I hear her asking "Twinkle twinkle little star, How I wonder what you are!"

But when I sang her the tune of, "When I was a small girl, and you were small boy, too. I did never know you, never know me too...," occasionally changed the lyrics so it would still be appropriate for her to listen to, she liked the melody.

I think, she just didn't remember the tune so when she asked for a song without any title, I assumed she wanted those similar to what I recently sang her.

I added other love songs to my songs for her and I bet she was liking them.

The other day, I told her a story. So there will be some variation in our engagement.

I told her one of the stories I usually tell my boys before. Yeah, it is the story of Monkey and Turtle (The Monkey and the Turtle). It is the easiest for me to relate to her.

Photo Source

To test if she was listening to the story, I asked her, "Sino ti nangkakan iti saba nga haan na innikan jy kadwa na?" (Who ate the bananas without giving his companion some of them?)

She readily answered with, "Monkey!"

I asked her another one, "Sino ti nagbunga ti inmula na?" (Who among the two had his plant bore fruit?)

She answered promptly with, "Ni Pag-one!" (It's the turtle!)

We clapped our hands and said, "Yey! Very good!"

I asked her a few more questions and we went out for some fresh air.

I hope that my throat will continue healing so that I can sing and tell her more songs and stories.

I am glad that after watching on YouTube and playing some cute games, she tosses the cellphone and declares, "Uston ti cellphone!" (Enough with the cellphone!)

But, of course, I reminded her not to ever toss gadgets and anything else because they will get damaged or hurt others.

Right now she is asleep.

I finished our laundry this morning via hand wash. We're just alone with my daughter anyway so not a lot of clothes to wash.

My daughter was patient and waiting for me. After washing our clothes, I bathed her and she is now sleeping.

I will sing to her songs again when she wakes up or we will decide which story to relate.

After writing this, I might sleep as well because I need to publish documents for my students later. I am glad this little kid is cooperative.

Juggling between house chores, mothering, and working is not a joke sometimes. But if we find ways to just enjoy, then it is not that stressful too.

I will try to enjoy just my daughter while the boys are away from the city. They went home to our hometown last week, Saturday, for a two-week vacation.

They needed to come back for their modules.

I also needed to engage more with my second son because he was most affected by the pandemic among them siblings. He has not tried yet being taught inside the classroom.

We went for his assessment before but it was just that. I believe, songs and stories work fine for him as well.

I am glad he left his phone with me. He exclaimed that he only get his favorite toy and will not be using his phone for a while. While they are on vacation. Lesser screen time. Good then, I said. What a surprise.

3
$ 2.05
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments