“Toopid Adam! I like!” Don’t say that, Denisse.

2 25
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

My daughter would watch ‘Son of Bigfoot’ for a whole day. She would request, “Mama, toopid Adam! I like!”

She means that she likes to watch ‘Son of Bigfoot’. This is a computer-animated comedy-drama film where the main character, Adam Harrison, was regarded as ‘stupid Adam’ by bullies of their school. My daughter would listen and utter some languages and would also exclaim what she hears from the film.

“Toopid Adam!” Then she goes laughing.

I kept saying that she shouldn’t be saying stupid to anyone. But she insists on calling the film as stupid Adam. I bet she’ll keep insisting on watching this till the day ends.

She picked the language from the older children here at the house. We play the film when their cousins come to play with them and they would spout, “Stupid Adam! Hahahaha!”

I would go mad trying to tell them not to influence the babies but they’re stubborn bunch. The good thing is that they get to play with my children while I write or do my assignments.

I’m glad that the stupid word was not the only part that my child was listening to. It might be that the film is really good. She started singing with the song of the film, “Do we know where the light is the brightest… Do we know how to clear what the fear is… Do we know how to feel when we crave it…”

Even me, I started searching for the lyrics of the song. I type it off my laptop and the kid would rush to my side and says, “Mama, bigfoot?”

Yes, I say.

She would also try mimicking other words from the film like “Stop! Mama, he says, stop!” Then she is proud with herself when I approve that she got the correct pronunciation.

But it was easiest for her to exclaim, toopid adam. I may just be correcting her with ‘stupid’ not ‘toopid’.

Sometime ago, their favorite was ‘Coco’. Still an animated film. I’ve got a collection of nice films in my flashdrive that we would watch when our Cignal has no load. It has load now though but Denisse is not over toopid adam.

She is on the puzzle mat, intent on the television screen. I tried putting it on other channels but she didn’t like Cartoon Network or Disney. Kids just have some favorites at some points. In time she’ll have other preferences. It’s good that Davies is not around. He went to play outside. If it happens that Davies is in the mood, they would fight over which channel to watch. Their attention gets divided because of the mobile phone. One would play my phone, one would watch tv, while the other would patiently use the old small laptop that we still have here.

Their father would scold us all for such sight but even him, he would yield once he is inside the house for the whole day. It is almost impossible to take away gadgets from children. But it is a discipline we have to give them. For them not to indulge so much but to also do house chores and finish their modules.

We are now on the part where Adam was being bullied by the three children in school. They made fun of Adam’s bag while inside the basketball court. They finally shoot Adam’s bag on the basket. Sadly, the bag did not come down before Adam went home.

When he came back to school, he was suspended because of the bag. The school principal wouldn’t believe him. He remarks that who knows why he would do that with his own bag. Anyway, he got suspended and he eventually discovers that his father is still alive. To cut the story short, he set out to meet his father and discovered that he is the real deal. His father has hairy and animal like body while he ‘got all the good things’ as his fathered remarked.

We would randomly bring the film back to the beginning when my daughter feels like going back and we would only be able to finish the film when she isn’t playing it back.

I just really hope that she would be over the ‘Stupid Adam’ description because honestly, it’s not a good thing. I wouldn’t want these kids to hurt other kids. It’s easy to be quoted as lenient parent. I may be lenient but I hate it when they are disrespectful and bully other children. No parent would ever want that.

5
$ 10.21
$ 10.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Media - whatever form it is - is so powerful and exposing kids, especially tiny humans can be quite dangerous. Their little brains are like sponges and absorb everything so it's best to limit their being around such things, however challenging it may be in this day and age of gadgets and computers. I remember the pedia of my nephews and nieces advising to keep them more interested in books and other activities to develop their motor and creative skills so that as their brain develops it will be full of that first rather than those they can watch onscreen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu painstakingly i will have to do that. No more excuses. it's what's to be done. thanks for this. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago