Simple Life is not so Simple

4 51
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

A part of my soul gave up on the complexities of life and if I were the only person inside my house, I would just boil my dish and eat it.

Problem would be, my housemates would demand other type of preparation. I am the mother and the simplistic act would raise brows inside the house if I persist.

Not that I am lazy but I wonder if I can just insist that we eat boiled dishes and plain rice. It will save us from the many procedures that we have to follow.

Towards Overeating

I am not exaggerating. I used to live a simple life back when I was in college. I would just get leaves from outside the house, boil it and it with plain rice. I even used to have thin body, no extra fats and I feel light.

I was the type who would just satisfy my hunger then stop eating. I didn't binge eat or eat inside cinemas. It's a hassle for me.

But going to the city, chances of adopting lifestyles of people here is high if we are not mindful.

Early Stage

I started buying karinderya foods together with my dormmates. It was against my principle back then but I bought anyway and ate. Before long, I became addicted to the taste of flavors from the karinderya and I became a regular customer.

My karinderya food eating persisted until I started over eating. I saw how my mates overindulged themselves and I was pulled to their habit.

On my own

I got employed right after college and so I now have my own money. What I did with my money was spending it mostly on food. My life was delicious, full, and voracious. Little did I know that it would become a lifetime addiction to food. It took a lot of my budget and I even could eat a whole pizza on my own.

I drank soda (till now), I tasted instant coffee (addicted), and been buying lots of unnecessary goods.

Overeater

Unfortunately, I got the downside of the influences of my dormmates. I have become an overeater. Those who saw me before would wonder how I ever became this big when I was so thin before. I knew of course why and it would be easy to deduce. Eating more than required.

Longing for restoration

I can always eat less, exercise more, and drink more water to go back in shape. But this is easier said than done. Instead, I write on my seat, drink coffee, wonder the day away.

Then it hit me how I was carried along with the flow of current. I was indifferent anyway, why was I influenced? But there is no point rebuking the self now.

What's left to do is go gradually back to the old healthy habits. Eat just right and eat natural foods.

The Challenge

With the variety of tasty foods and well prepared cuisines, it's just plain hard to go back to simple living. But I know I had to go back rather urgently.

I am beginning to feel my feet swell, my body heavy and I can't breathe properly when hiking.

My motto is all or nothing. Once I taste delicious food, I can't let it go. But once I resort to boiled dish and plain rice, it will be good.

Decision

My housemates can just watch me eat healthily. I won't mind their delicious foods. Mine is more satisfying to the soul.

But then again, I am ready to forgive myself when it is not going smoothly. But seriously, I have to live simply.

  • No instant coffee

  • No pizza

  • No cozy places

  • House and work only

It's mind conditioning. It will be achievable.

But of course, I may just be kidding myself!

Hehehehe...

But really, I wish so much for a change in lifestyle. I am not blaming those who influenced me. I am just resentful of how fickle the human mind is most of the time.

Simple life is not so simple. My reason is that it may be just there but we find so many hindrances instead of simply living it. Like, if I really will it, then I may just do like I wanted to. No need to consider my family. I can just remedy it by cooking their preferred food while I eat my boiled food.

4
$ 5.18
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cpilosopotasya
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I remember how I became an overeater. When I was young, I really was skinny that I got a nickname of 'kawayan'. I don't but I never had the chance to get fat even for just a bit until such time that I con no longer control my cravings for food. til now baboy p rin.hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahaha, di na ba kayang maibalik sa dati mam? "Kung maibabalik ko lang!"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhahha...i am trying my best...i lost 10kg na since the last time we saw each other.,...hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooooow!!! Haha. I am gaining more so I really need to check my overeating

$ 0.00
2 years ago