Silence is golden

0 21
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

At long last, I was able to have my medical check-up. I was telling my older sister that I almost had convulsions last night so she pushed me for a check-up.

She volunteered her money if I had none and I will just pay her if I receive my salary. I readily agreed.

I was becoming affected by the pain and I had no choice but to have a check-up.

We agreed to meet in the early afternoon. I reluctantly took a bath despite feeling heaviness throughout my body.

My eyes have been throbbing and my neck was hurting. The more I needed a checkup.

How long have I postponed going for a checkup? Hmmm... I think it was more than a month. Such a shame.

The doctor we went to see had only one patient left and so we were next in the queue.

When it was my turn, I sat down, and the doctor signaled as if asking, "What did you come here for?"

To make it quits, I pointed at my throat. She then let me open my mouth as wide as it can be opened.

She checked through my mouth and then, after a while, she got my blood pressure and checked my lungs.

Do you have a cough? No.

Do you have colds? Yes.

Does it itch? No.

How long has this been? About a week.

I then told her that I have eye pain and neck pain and headache. But she was just nodding as if she knew what I was going through.

I was wondering if she perhaps has had a lot of cases like me that she only needed to ask a few questions, and then it is done.

She prescribed medicines. Included were of course antibiotics and paracetamol.

It didn't take long and we were buying medicines. I first let the pharmacist compute the worth of the antibiotics.

I had a limited budget so I will see first and then decide if I can buy it all.

Good thing the pharmacist suggested that I buy all the antibiotics tablets and reduced the other medicines. But I was able to only reduce one. I was able to buy almost everything. I will just go back to buy on Sunday the remaining medicines.

We stepped out of the clinic/pharmacy and I immediately went to withdraw. I went to the grocery and bought essentials.

I still could hear the voice of the doctor despite saying no more than how many words.

But then, her hands were soothing and she was gentle when she touched me.

Unlike other doctors that I used to see for the checkups of my children, she was a lot more silent and only spoke when necessary.

I guess silence is golden and that you just have to see it like that.

I already took my first set of doses. All except one were to be taken twice a day.

Just for today, I would take the antibiotic at 2:30 and then again at 9:30. Same with the others. Tomorrow and in the coming days, it will be 7 am - 7 pm dose.

On Tuesday, I will go again for a follow-up. Hoping the dear doctor will speak more. Hehehe.

I think I can already resume work. Hoping my students just took a break. Hoping they have not forgotten me.

4
$ 3.59
$ 3.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments