Punishment! Not really…

4 16
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Dexter and Davies, my two sons, ran around. Laughing, teasing each other. They were hoping my anger would subside in a short while. They couldn’t do anything. From my peripheral vision, I see them glancing towards my direction hoping to see some smile. I remained serious and steady, while writing and reading.

This morning, they were using my phone, watching and playing. But when I asked them to go and buy something, they made a lot of alibis. In short, they didn’t want to be disturbed from what they were doing. I captured the phone and turned the television off. I ordered them to go outside and play with other kids. They obliged but came immediately back.

I didn’t talk to them except sending them out again. They wouldn’t budge and just continued playing with whatever toy they could grab. They stopped laughing. They seem to be beaten. Dexter started playing with beyblade (their old beyblade). The toys are still functional so I scolded them when out of the blue they wanted to shop at shoppee and Lazada. After much bla bla bla, I eventually yielded and told them that would be the first and last that we will be shopping at Shoppee or Lazada.

We first tried shoppee but then there was no cash-on-delivery (COD) option. I have my credit card and epayments but I opted for COD so that they will see the amount of money spent for the toys. We then tried Lazada and good thing they have what I wanted. I let the two boys choose their toys. I was little annoyed with how my first son operated. I advised him to be more prudent. After choosing, I finalized the order by filling out information and familiarizing myself with the many unfamiliar things. Honestly, I found the layout very confusing. One or two wrong presses and you would have to clean your cart out. The order is taking forever to come. We’ve already waited for two weeks but nothing coming yet. I checked the messages at the app and finally, we will be waiting for the call or message of the delivery man.

I am preparing myself for firmer approach so that the kids will not break their promise that that would be the first and last order from Lazada. Besides, I don’t like shopping online. We are not at liberty to be spending our money for those things and we can just buy at town when needed. Also, I can’t afford to be put in ‘that’ position again. Financial problem is hell when it goes out of hand. I wouldn’t like to be publishing like crazy again. Although one perk of being in dire need is you would be forced to forge money out of thin air. But I wouldn’t want to go through that again.

Disciplining kids is no easy feat. I complained a little before of some of the methods of our parents but I got to appreciate everything now as I was comparing how our parents reared us and how I was raising my children. I have to appreciate their efforts in making us who we are now. I have to do the same or make a better job with mine.

Reflecting on the past years, I have to admit I’ve been slacking off. Being a parent is no easy job. You have to sacrifice a lot and have to show good things and positive things to your kids. Even your language, you have to refine it. I struggled with teaching them the basics like clothing oneself, brushing teeth, taking a bath, etc. I am one who has a lot of flaws when it came to grooming and similar things. But I have to make things right for my children. I have to respect it when other people, though rude, would suggest how I discipline my children. It’s for my children anyway and taking suggestions here and there as long as wise and sensible would be for my children’s welfare. I just have to give them my love and warmth so they wouldn’t feel inferiority complex like what I’ve felt from my father.

I will be talking to my two sons later and explain what they did wrong. My first takes my words with regard while my second is still growing. He’s five and I hope he’ll be more obedient like his older brother. Their youngest sibling is a lot easier and cuter to manage. Maybe because she is a girl. She is even running simple errands inside the house like getting her own diaper, looking for her clothes, and looking for remote control.

It is my wish that households here in the Philippines be molded right for our future’s betterment.

7
$ 11.15
$ 11.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.01 from @jamesmichelea
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Parenting is an education in itself. Moms and dads learn as they go. With so many distractions now, and conveniences as well, it's so much more difficult to discipline children and teach them about responsibility early on. Walking the talk helps, I guess. And talking to, rather than down to, kids is also effective. And with three kids, you're dealing with different personalities so that's another challenge. But with love, you can muster the courage to do it.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I agree with you. And sometimes I would wish that there is an easier way to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap po tlaga maging parent lalo na kapag below 10 pa ang mga junakis. Kaya mo yan ate, kapag nasa tamang edad nadin naman sila mas maiiintindihan na nila kung bakit kailangan nilang iappreciate ang mga bagay bagay. Maganda din po na hindi mo sila iniispoil kase sa tingin ko masyadong masama sa bata pag laging iniispoil.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Tama! Masama talaga pag sila ay iniispoil. Tayo rin magsusuffer sa huli pag ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago