Once in a While

0 13
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

It was a productive day. I did my thing without much interruption (on my end). It was already a given that the kids demand attention but every after attending to them I went straight back to my school chore.

Just a note, hubby was outside washing clothes. I'm not sure why he wasn't using the machine. An act of rebellion maybe. He might have remarked, why am I washing clothes?

After publishing my morning article, I immediately put my armor for checking students' papers. Online checking. I deal with PDF, word, picture, screenshot. Instructions were given. But students just can't get it right without follow ups and reminders.

Anyway I thought this is better than them not submitting at all. I've been very lenient since the pandemic. I understand them much as I understand myself. I can't be really strict with formats and deqdlines. What is most important is that they understand the lesson.

As I went on checking, I saw that many have not completed yet their activities. I will have to message them again. Remind them, give them more extensions. Encourage them and push them to do their assignments.

I am sometimes guilty with being sarcastic with students. I realized that is the worst way to go about things. We can't be like that no matter how trivial the students questions are.

To make amends, I really go the extent of re messaging those whom I've wronged. It's better to bow down to be blessed than to persist with pride then break later on. It doesn't matter to me even sometimes there are those who abuse you. They're already judged.

What I deem essential is taking part in students' lives. Sometimes they may not really understood a single thing in Math but they remember your kindness. Although of course I also receive positive feedback that I did well teaching. I have my doubts since I know how I did but I can't help being elated when someone gives compliments.

I started teaching as young as a fresh grad at 20. I see how I've changed over the years. I changed institution only once. I'm still the lazy, fudgeling teacher but I do well making amends by doing one on one to students. If they have not understood the lesson yet, I deliver it again to them one by one. But if nothing really changes, then that is already on the student and not on me.

I began yielding to the fact that the student also has a part in his learning. I can't keep the blame to myself always. The students also have their part to make effort. We meet halfway.

Now that classes are being delivered online, I again have my struggles to keep working. Sometimes I put off doing things till deadline. I really can't beat that.

To improve things I have to give minimum number of activities. Only one activity per module.

This day I congratulate myself because I have accomplished, not much, but enough to unload the bulk of burden. Hehehehe. Geez... I am also a student, I can't relax just yet. I have deadlines to beat.

At noontime, we went to a nearby house. Not our immediate neighbor. The occasion is traditional form of wedding. The first part of traditional. They butcher pig and invite people to eat. Or they have already invited before the occasion. The traditional term is 'karang'. My bad I really can't explain in detail. In short it's the first ceremony performed for beginning couples.

We ate there at noon. We will go their again later this evening. To eat again.

This is my afternoon article and after publishing, I'll take a bath in preparation for the occasion later. We will just eat alright, but I also needed to stay clean in the short event that others will spot me. They regard me as 'Madam' after all.

That 'Madam' sometimes coupled by teasing. I have to get used to how people interact here. If you're easily annoyed, you won't last here. There were instances when I would really get provoked and be out of myself. Which puts me more in awkward position.

Once in a while I do my thing smoothly. At least I was able to check online submittals. There are remaining sets but I can do that later tonight. Be taking a break by writing. Not really a break at all but I just treat it like that.

3
$ 6.99
$ 6.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments