Not to be pitied but to be recognized

0 21
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

It is a shame that I ranted about twice about a delivery guy who, I thought, always put off his delivery duty for the next day or pass it to other delivery guys.

Last Thursday, the delivery express texted that my parcel was out for delivery and that I could reach my rider at a particular mobile number.

I recognized the number as the rider who previously didn't deliver my parcels for the reason of natural calamity every time. The day after that, it was another guy who delivered my package.

Anyway, back to last Thursday, my rider yet again didn't deliver my parcel for the same reason, a natural calamity.

Well, I should admit that it did indeed rain during those times when his deliveries weren't successful.

Yesterday, it was a good thing that he was the one who again attempted to deliver my parcel. I thought, at least he was the one who was coming. And that I was somehow curious to know his situation.

He called at around 11:00 in the morning and I immediately answered the call, he identified the place he would drop my parcel off, and I went there at once.

I was there first and approaching the place was a man on a motorcycle with an artificial leg. Wait, it is not even an artificial leg, it was something that he needed to hold to be able to walk.

I was shocked but I did not show it. I believe it is a form of respect to treat him as if he weren't disabled. Because he isn't. In the first place, he is working fairly and he isn't showing anyone that he is needing special treatment.

I let him untie my parcel, gave him my OTP, and got my parcel.

I walked away while he was calling other receivers and I realized how thoughtless I was.

I shouldn't have thought badly about him and putting his disability aside, anyone would've postponed delivering my parcel considering the possible rain usually in the afternoon.

Besides, my parcels weren't that important, as something needed between life and death.

I used the realization as a chance to renew my promise that I wouldn't thoughtlessly judge anyone. Perhaps, judging isn't our business. It wouldn't ever be unless we are called for judging during contests. Hehehehe. Like pageants. Hehe.

I can't help but think that the delivery guy most probably had gone through so much before being able to settle for the job.

I also can't help feeling some pity but I know that it is recognition for his efforts that will be more appreciated than giving him pity.

I hope that I will always be able to set aside my judgments when dealing with people. Also, I myself don't want undue judgments from others.


Hi! I am Lincs and I am showing here my sponsors' block. Do visit these amazing writers!

Sponsors of wakeuplincs
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 4.85
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Talecharm
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments