My real wealth

2 16
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Thinking of just resting and relaxing for the weekend to be ready for next week's makeup discussions for my classes.

But...

The laundry that has been left for days is still there waiting to be washed. As I was not able to wash them because of the body ache and headache.

And I am still insisting on hand-washing them.

Good for the dishes, I can do that just fine. Plus I can tell my son to do it. No problem with the cooking, I can manage. I can sweep the floor, alright?

This has always been the case. No week is a worry-free week because of laundry and other house chores.

It is not only job-related tasks that's worrying a person but also house chores. It could be anything. And we know that, don't we?

I am finally feeling better after the feverish days...

The other night before my check-up, I felt a convulsion coming.

I tried my best not to doze off as I might experience what I have seen with my children so I diligently wiped my body with a warm wet towel until I was feeling a little less hot.

Thankfully, after taking my first set of doses yesterday, my fever was gone and I am becoming my normal self again.

I can't believe there was a tinge of dejection the past few days. Was that how sick people felt?

Personally, my worries included all facets of my life, my job and my students, my family especially my kids, the house, and everything on it.

There was the feeling of "What if this is something very serious?"

I can't help but think how unprepared I was just in case. And the policy prepared for my insurance, I have not fully reviewed it yet.

Seriously, sick people need to be encouraged not to be discouraged. By becoming sick even just for a few weeks, I am coming to understand how a sick one thinks.

Developing compassion takes experience too. And it's not easy.

I hope to always remember that feeling of desperation while feeling helpless and all.

Honestly, I have always thought that I have strong eyes against the radiation from this electronic devices (laptops, cellphones, etc).

But look at me now, having my phone in the lowest possible brightness, not accessing my laptop at all. Using my cellphone for the minimum possible use.

Maybe it's time to be a hermit again. I feel I have a longer life in becoming one... Embracing knowledge, reading as many minds (books) as possible, and thinking positively...

Mildews, rust, molds, and weevils may eat and feast on my things and food in the house but let them not eat my only real wealth, my sound mind, my healthy body, and most of all, my faith in Him!

There's the laundry still but I will get through this. It has always been like this. And over and over I will get through this.

Gradually I will wash the laundry and they will all dry equally.

I thank The One above for making me good once more.

Over and over I cry. He helps over and over still... Yet I go there again out in the open, vulnerable to threats and viruses and fungi and bacteria, name it all.

Despite everything, He still has a way to catch me. And over and over I am thankful, grateful every day, for His unwavering trust in me. And for His immeasurable grace for me.

Here are the things I've noticed in me after getting scared of diseases:

  • I stopped instant coffee at once. I only drank brewed coffee and powder or granules, no sugar, no creamer.

  • I eat in controlled portions.

  • I thought not to be stressed out by how I snore. I think of it as a motivation to keep exercising until my weight normalizes.

I hope that you dear young readers if there ever are out there, that you heed your elders' advice or at least keep them in mind. So in the end we'll all minimize the risks, whatever those are.

Still, the best thing is to keep a positive outlook on life.

Image from Unsplash, also used as this article's lead image

4
$ 2.58
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

Alwayss keep the goodgealth maam, that's the only wealth we have that needs to treasure all the time. And aviod from overthinking, look for a frnd when you feel worried about your health maam. Take care always :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, friend. You, too. We have to stop overthinking and just take care of our eyes, nose, head, shoulders, knees and toes. No, really, it's not a joke. Sakit na mata, nasali pa ulo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago