Miss you, Aunt, my replica

2 19
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

This article was written last night. I forgot to post it after writing it.

Just had a video chat with my cousin. Let's just name her Jolie, not her real name. Ahehehe!

It's only now that she realizes I look a lot like her late mother, my mother's sister!

Wherever you are, aunt, know that you are always remembered and cherished. At least, Jolie has me to look at now.

Jolie and I, we always complimented each other on the face. As in on the face, saying sweet nothings about each other.

But wow! It was only during our recent video chat that she finally noticed my resemblance with Aunt. Maybe because I am a lot older now? Hehehe. It doesn't matter as long as she finally saw our resemblance.

It's very heartwarming. Somehow.

My Aunt's demise was unexpected. Or say, early, at her age of less than 60 years. We thought that she would recover from an illness but we learned that Leukemia was a point of no return.

She passed away, leaving us all in mourning. And cousin Jolie, I know, was most affected. Until now.

Jolie made me turn sideways, looked me where she wanted to and concluded, oh no, you really look like mama.

I put my lipstick on to forge my youngness but age isn't just a number at this point.

In the years to come, I surmise I will look more and more like her. Even I, when I look in the mirror could see my Aunt in me.

She was one of the Aunts that we could tell our crushes on, before. She goes along our silly teases and gets interested in our personal lives. Those were things about her I couldn't forget. We miss her dearly.

We finished our video chat with Jolie after she recommended so many KDramas to watch. If Aunt were alive, she would have tried watching those series as well.

She was a Biology teacher, by the way. Became a principal after transferring to a small school. Enjoyed hot springs at very early morning. Like when I saw her one time because we were both early birds before.

I think, one of the causes she got the sickness was her being workaholic, missing meals and proper nutrition. Or maybe, some other reasons.

The last time I visited her was a few days before her death. She was at the hospital, battling leukemia. The last thing I did for her was to put on her socks.

4
$ 3.23
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Sending virtual hugs for you. :((

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, beautiful lady! God bless you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago