Just the way you are

3 23
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I hear myself humming this a while ago. “Just the way you are…” And I ask myself, what’s the way I am?

If I will just be just the way I am, I wonder what would happen to my family. If I will just be just the way I am, I might just be spending my time wondering, wandering and lost in my thoughts.

I still remember those single days. After college, I had just over a year for myself. Because after that, I got married already. But during that one year that I was not married yet, most of the time I was with myself, eating. It would have been a good thing if I was forced to write back then. But it’s okay because I wouldn’t have made it anyway since those thoughts were still brewing in my mind.

Now that I am married, I had a problem most of the time with being just the way I am. It was only until recently as I have mentioned I think in one of my articles that my hubby is letting me be. But I wouldn’t be so complacent because time will come again when he assumes the ‘normal’ things then scold me. Then we’d go over the process again accepting and adjusting.

Just the way I am, I like that very much. Problem is, laundry becomes a mountain, and other house chores left to be just the way they are as well. So I had to make an effort to at least do the basic things. Washing dishes, sweeping the floor, dusting things off, folding whatever there is to be folded, and tending to the plants. Oh, frying potatoes also. Why do kids love French fries so much?

The first time I went to McDo, that was when my friend treated me to burger and fries, I remember diving right thru the burger and eating it all at once. The fries, I don’t like that if I was just the way I was. My friend, on the other hand, slowly ate first her French fries before eating her burger. I see, so that’s the way it is to be eaten. Of course, that is what I did the next time I went to McDo. I first enjoy the French fries that I learned to love, then at long last the burger! Burger, yummy yummy so much so much! The patty, hmmm… Who doesn’t love burger?

I told my hubby last night that I would be peeling the tomatoes off and slicing them and soaking them in water ready to be fried this morning. But I was very tired yesterday so when Davies said I’d lullaby him to sleep, I also slept with him. But of course, Denisse wouldn’t yield her position. She also made me hold her to sleep. I wouldn’t be just the way I was because nothing would be accomplished then.

Just the way I am. As I was swaying my Denisse to sleep, Dexter came at around 9 pm. He attended a wedding at a nearby barangay. It was customary for us to bring home meat after the occasion. Indeed he came home with a bag of cooked meat. My eyes lightened up, I put the meat on a cooking container then poured water on the meat. I boiled it. Then my sleeping Denisse awakened to eat with me. My hubby who is lying down on the cushion at the sala looked entertained by my love of meat. Oh yeah, I just told him few hours back I wasn’t eating for the night because of my diet. Our viand is sinigang na tilapia. He ate saying that the sinigang is very delicious while I watched him eat. When I was eating voraciously with the meat that our son brought, it was his time to be amused and remarked, “That’s why you keep complaining how big you are.” But it’s the way I am, meat eater. Meat lover.

You’ll see soon how I’ll be getting back at my figure once my Denisse is a little older. But for now, I indulge in my favorites. Oh, there are a lot of plans to get fit but some mothers will agree that while the kids are young we just can’t be that slim. When the kids have to eat, we also have to eat. Or even though we had no plans of eating, we simply get the appetite especially if your child is like mine who keeps feeding me. Lol. I keep telling them to just focus on their food but they also feed me. Maybe to make it fair? Don’t know. It’s just the way things are, I guess.

7
$ 8.90
$ 8.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Being a married woman is not easy, even tending to your kids. You are so amazing, just the way you are. Hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Elle! You too :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Elle! You too :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago