It's Valentine's, and I'm on cloud

0 18
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Seriously, I'm extremely thankful I was on cloud. Otherwise, I would have been unable to resume writing now.

Let me explain.

I have destroyed my computer. My laptop, rather. If that is how it is properly called. It is a BIG laptop. And though I wasn't so fond of it because of its size, I, nevertheless used it for my works. I, nevertheless, loved it because it helped me during this online setup. I am mainly not fond of it because I can't carry it just anywhere. And also, think about others who still can't hold a proper desktop. I must be thankful and grateful.

What happened?

Last night, water was splashed into the keyboard and I wasn't aware of what I was doing because I continued working despite the incident. Later, I turned it off and transferred it to its proper place. I was using it in our bedroom when water was splashed.

I do not know how to exactly describe the incident but to cut it short, water went into the built-in keyboard of my laptop. I didn't turn it off immediately, I went on working for a few more minutes before finally turning it off to transfer to my desk place.

I was setting it up on my desk after collecting the charger, mouse, add-on keyboard. When I turned it on again, my! It wasn't functioning at all. No lights whatsoever. I immediately accepted my fault that I have utterly destroyed it by not automatically turning it off when the water went to the built-in keyboard.

I left it there at the table, plugged all things out of it. I waited for hours in hope of finding a clue as to what I should do to try to bring it to life but it wasn't responding at all when I did things like this and that. Still no lights, no nothing. I knew right then I have destroyed my laptop. I am in no luxury to bring it to the repair shop so I went back to my sister-in-law to retrieve the laptop I returned to her. I was supposed to have bought that before but I returned it saying I could work still with my BIG laptop.

Her laptop was a chrome book. Roughly speaking, you operate on it with the internet on. Or you may add extensions that would allow you to work offline with your documents. But it isn't a regular computer where you could just use it even if there is no internet. You mainly use chrome in order to do things. For a quick reference, check this link.

I took a screenshot just a while ago. As you see, I have already pinned my zoom app to the shelf. You see the apps and browser on the shelf.

It's still very awkward to use it but the advantage is that with just signing in to my google account, I set almost everything up already. Oh, yeah, my email is with yahoo mail but I still could use it with Gmail. Amazing collaboration. The thing that I will mostly miss maybe with my old laptop was the paint feature.

I still have to explore this but the most important thing, for now, is that I was able to automatically recover passwords, canvas, google forms, etc, necessary for my teaching work. Almost all important files could be recovered through email attachments I have sent over the internet.

Class record? - Check

Templates for recording scores? - Check

Learner information? - Check

Other records? - Check

PowerPoint Presentations? - Check

The lack of foresight to save the PPt presentations on cloud was a mistake. I should have sent anything I create offline to my email drafts or wherever where I could recover them just in case. Still, those are easy to recreate if given just enough time.

If I insisted to do everything offline, then I wouldn't be able to resume working right now.

It so happens that today is our students' intervention week so no synchronous classes this day and the rest of the week. I will have enough time to explore and make a remedy for the things I used to do using my previous device.

But if you also seriously ask me if I am on cloud nine this Valentine's, why not? Coconut!

I just hope that I will be able to adjust within this week so that when new lessons are due to the students, I will be able to do well.

Meanwhile, let us explore and do what we can to make things work seamlessly.

And do visit my sponsors!

Sponsors of wakeuplincs
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 1.69
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments