I love the scent of boredom

7 21
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I am in love with boredom, with idle moments, with loneliness and aloneness. Can you believe it?

When I go through a series of what others call boring moments, I thank Him that He gives me break every now and then.

I just sit down and enjoy being alone or lonely. Truth be told, I am not entirely confident I like it that others see me alone, but I love the scenario anyway.

While they go loud and crowded, I sit in a remote place and think and think and think.

Perhaps, I do work just for the sake of survival. And when my keep's earned, I like to use time for boring things.

Growing up, I didn't know for sure what my inclination was or is. And I am still not sure what is until now.

What I am sure is that I seem to like boring moments.

Oh, not absolutely but close to that.

Dear others, I wonder what gets you bored. So much to do, so much to think about.

I've got tons and tons of things to do. Including thinking, imagining, and just staring at the blank wall.

Just maybe, I like taking my time. So the more idle moments, the better.

Ah... I don't know.

I'm retiring for tonight. To my dear oh bed. To my beloved fantasy world. Where I could dream of fiction for myself.

My peers may see me as a boring item but they don't understand how rich my life is. I may be poor financially but I am rich in my own right.

There's one distinction between my first and second. I am talking about my boys. Silly! I mean my sons.

First son wants to talk to me all the time when I just want to be silent and am deep in thought.

Second son likes to stay silent. Only questioning when necessary. When we walk on the street holding hands, we like the company of each other, silent, deep in thought and comfortable.

First son, on the other hand, questions me on a lot of things. Never wanting me to stay silent and be lost in thought. He frowns whenever I delay my answer. I explain, he has to wait for my answer if he wants one. He doesn't like boredom.

I guess, I have passed different conflicting qualities to my children and I like them both as companies. The main difference between my two sons is that, one supports my being deep in thought while the other questions my being deep in thought.

There's really nothing boring about being boring. It's quite subjective. I guess.

Ironically, I am using my subjective definition of their interpretation of boring to bring to you how I love the scent of boredom.

4
$ 2.46
$ 2.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

You reminded me of this line from the movie Ice Age 2. "And I'm better off alone, by myself. A fortress of solitude, in the ice, forever. A lone, lonely, loner." -Sid.

LOL!

Anyhow, I wonder where your first son got his curiosity and asks so many questions... but that's a sign of intellect... he's hungry for knowledge...

However, silence doesn't mean the opposite. Silence could mean you are deep in your thoughts, trying to understand things on your own. I won't be surprised if sometimes you talk to yourself... I don't mean you are going crazy or something... I mean you may have a tendency to "think out loud".

I do that when I am deep in my thoughts or trying to solve a problem in my mind.

Lastly, I want to say.. "Silence is Golden". It's a gift. Especially in this noisy world (no pun intended to noise.cash). As the Bible says "Be still and know that I am God," - Psalm 46.10

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yey! A very wonderful remarks from you, Sir.

Thanks for reading my article and understanding it.

I actually don't watch a lot especially movies but because of this, I will be watching, taking the one you mentioned as movie recommendation. (I recently finished a series but that was Korean. Ahehehe. I watched in installment since I also have a job to do.)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree on this. Sometimes boredom is one of my fave thing to ever happen.

You have a totally opposite sons. They're so cute.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahehehe, I often wonder which I am among the two boys. I guess my personalities were split between them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boredom sometimes made us have a quality moment in ourself. Boredom made us relax and stressfree

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True... Gives us idle time. Time for a date with ourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, time for ourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago