'Going beyond' wasn't gold and black just because I wore maroon

0 28
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

And I am thinking of continuing with my 3000-word mark. While thoughts overflow and inspiration and kindness abound. I may just stop at 1000 for now but I will still try in the coming days, weeks, or months. Lola Glo has something on this.

This day is one of a kind. For the first time, I am attending a ceremony to have my n-year service in the institution, where I am working, be recognized.

For one, I made a grave mistake. Another, I was not lucky to have my luck on my side.

Let me tell you about some unlucky incidents before this day and during this day.

  • Yesterday, I was reading the program of the service awards ceremony. It was indicated at the bottom of the paper that attire should be gold or black. Unfortunately, my eyes didn't reach that portion. So, I wasn't able to confirm what was to be worn on the occasion.

  • This morning, I was lucky to choose mustard-colored upper clothing. I wore it and went to work. Since I was obliged to be on a panel for a research class early in the afternoon, I was thinking of not going home anymore to change clothes before the ceremony. Fortunately and unfortunately, we were able to finish the defense on time. Fortunately, I say, because I was able to go home first, have a shower and refresh before the occasion. Unfortunately, I also say, because I changed my clothes and I wore a maroon blouse. Well, that was indeed a grave mistake.

If only I didn't change clothes, then I would have been lucky to dress appropriately, in terms of color, if not the type of clothing, for the occasion. But then again, luck wasn't on my side.

This may not be a big deal but I see it so big that I can't help but get my neurons activated to write something like this. I took it as a chance to come to beat around the bush and be able to hit my mark at the very least.

You see, I am very much inclined tonight to write something like this. I am very sleepy but the thought of GOING BEYOND is just so powerful.

G for gold, B for black. And M isn't just a letter the same with any of the two. Maroon. Even R isn't. Red. If you get what I mean.

Nevertheless, I was able to enjoy the night with my co-awardees.

At the start, one noticed the color of what I am wearing.

"Should be black," she said.

Then I responded, "There wasn't a specific instruction anyway."

Then she and a few others pointed out the portion of the program indicating the color of the attire.

I was very disappointed. I shouldn't have gone home to change clothes.

But my co-awardees assured me that it was okay. It has to be okay. Even if not really. Hehehehe.

I was having a feast. And if I may tell you why I was having such, these are the reasons:

  • I was able to listen to a colleague deliver his testimonial for being a five-year awardee in the institution. I was awestruck! He spoke so freely and beautifully. For those who were there, sorry if we describe his delivery differently. But I enjoyed his testimonial greatly. So much so that I messaged him right after. I wrote, "Suuuuuper galing! Ng testimonial sir!" (Suuuuuper good! Testimonial sir!)

  • I was able to have a selfie with one notable figure in our institution. I enjoy seeing her every time we have meetings and such. For privacy, I am not posting any photos.

  • I was able to have a good fill in my tummy. Yummy!!! (But still kulang. Well, I have to learn from here on to be satisfied. Besides, I am in dire need of a diet that would promote wellness. So, let me just be smugly contented with what was served on the table during the night.)

I got bored and got pleased at some points during the occasion.

I discovered some secrets. I was able to appreciate people.

I took photos with colleagues and friends.

I sat there and wished it weren't so romantically formal so I could just jump to my food even before dinner time based on the schedule. Still, I enjoyed the formality and the taste of experience for some scenes that I only get to usually see in movies or dramas.

For several moments, I forgot about G and B. But my maroon blouse continually stood out among golds and blacks.

And whenever we went to the stage to take photo opportunities, I would go to the back so they would forget that I didn't follow the instruction.

(I am finishing here. I know, I always finish like this, messy and lacking a proper conclusion. But I am very sleepy already.)

1
$ 0.92
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments