Even just for a day

0 22
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I used to mention that I was a coffee lover. The truth is, it is in the present tense--I am a coffee lover. Yesterday, today, tomorrow.

Photo from Unsplash

I wake up each morning, and only coffee is my breakfast sometimes. Despite the expected dangers of too much coffee, I continued to take around three cups a day.

I felt as if a day were not complete without at least a cup of coffee. But as they say, things should be done in moderation.

So a day came when I suspected things. My excessive intake of caffeine thru coffee hurt my system.

Given that, I still took coffee. Am I stubborn? Much like a fool. Could be.

Then one day, I woke up without a desire to taste its usual taste. I just shrugged my shoulders.

I was feeling happy that morning that I didn't have the urge to take coffee and that my body agreed with it. No contrabida.

That particular day ended without me ever sipping a drop of coffee. I immediately felt drowsy at around 9 in the evening.

I didn't resist my sleep. I simply didn't let my blogging hinder my sleeping early during that evening. I slept through the night. Ah, there were occasional cries from my little one. But that would be understandable as I still have young ones with me.

The following day, I still didn't feel any urge to drink coffee. Okay, I told myself. Might as well have another coffee-less day.

I felt that my neck pain went away and I could sleep during day naps. I was feeling better. I was getting better.

I'm not sure if I had the third day of coffee-less days but at least I was able to sufficiently rest. I think I could drink coffee again as I need it for the night. Work-related.

Good thing that I was able to rest even just during those few days of not taking a cup of coffee. A day is enough. More than a day is more than enough.

I am hoping for more self-discipline. I guess it comes with age. Or not. Hehe.

Earlier this evening, I finally decided to drink coffee again. I also didn't resist. I bought my brand. I just calmly told myself to not take it excessively.

Sometimes, I believe that my love for coffee involves some sort of romanticism on my part. I am in love with the idea of drinking or sipping coffee especially early in the morning. I also find it cool to take it during all-nighter nights.

But then again, there is a price to pay if we aren't mindful of what we are doing. I for one isn't very thoughtful at all. I just simply focus on the romantic thing most of the time.

Really, there is a very great difference in taking a break from the habit of drinking three or more cups of coffee a day. To think that these days, I am into instant ones.

From time to time, I will have coffee-less days. For rest and rejuvenation. I believe so.

Meanwhile, I was so energized by dancing and shaking my body yesterday. Ate M just played music in her front yard and it got me moving.

My sweat came rushing down my face and it felt so wonderful. We promised to do it again this day and every day but my school requirements are just tormenting me(sorry for the word). Anyway, we will push through with it on other days I am not so busy.

Just a day of this or that, of good things, is more than enough for a change towards fitness and health.

Here's to hoping for more coffee-less days and more exercise sessions...

PS: I almost got my esteem to the ground when I saw how chubby I have become. But my positive side took me calmly to the side and told me I can always go to the better side of exercise and a healthy diet. You may give your advice but once you are the one involved, you can't help feeling all the negativities.

Lead image from Unsplash

3
$ 2.75
$ 2.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments