Eight Ounces of Coke in Exchange for a Long Walk

2 25
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I went for a walk a while back. I had four objectives: submit my son’s module at their school and then get a new set for him to answer; withdraw money; buy groceries; and exercise.

I could say that I was able to do all four.

From our home, I walked a few distance going to the turning point of our public utility vehicle. I initially planned to walk until I arrived at my son’s school but a jeep turned up so I rode it. There is still a few meters to walk after I left the jeep. I went straight to my son’s adviser and he issued my new sets of modules for quarter 4. He obtained the answered previous modules.

I put the modules on my bag. They were placed in a plastic bag. I walked about how many meters to withdraw money. Hmmm… I may be a Math major but I suck at estimating distances. Anyway, I walk till I arrived at the atm machine. I withdrew the remaining money. I kept the receipt. I placed a certain amount of money into the most accessible pocket of my bag for easy retrieval when I pay my groceries. A hundred pesos was put into my wallet. Just so something will stay there.

By this time, I could already feel my feet throbbing. But it doesn’t matter. I love long walks and while walking I could imagine and even pray for as long as I am walking.

I continued to the grocery store where I bought our basic needs (diaper, milk powder, milo, laundry powder, bath soap, shampoo, cooking oil, and a few more items). I forgot to buy coffee. It was not in the list of things to buy so I really forgot about it. I should have kept previous lists of things to buy for quicker references.

I had to really estimate the worth of the items. Actually, I made sure to have a more accurate estimate. I looked into each item’s price then computed the total. I have a very tight budget so I needed to check what I buy.

I went here and there until I finally completed what’s in the list. I paid at the cashier, had to buy a new eco bag because I did not bring with me one.

Now came the decision if I will walk home or take a taxi. I thought I will just walk since I only have one big eco bag with me. I could bear the weight, I assured myself. If I will be more honest, the baggage was a little heavy, plus my bag is a little packed as well. I have the character of bringing with me a lot of things for my ‘just in case’ motto. So I journeyed home with heavy baggage with me.

I can’t take a taxi because it’s too much for the budget right now. I could tolerate the weight of what I bought. At the same time I want to exercise. What’s notable a while ago is that no matter how high the sun has been, I was still able to walk even without an umbrella. But of course, I should have used an umbrella. But it is an added weight so I did not mind bringing out an umbrella. This is what’s good in our place. It is usually cold here so even though the sun is high up, we can still tolerate at least at a certain duration. Unlike at other places I experienced that you will have the tendency for heat stroke. Here, it is rare. What more dangerous here is the cold during the ber season and early months of the year.

I am having a slight headache. I have expected this. I was very much thirsty when I arrived at our area. I looked for a store. I bought 8 ounces of coke. I drank it with the thinking that it is my prize for walking and not taking a taxi. Hehe. Somehow, I felt some pride because I was able to do some productive exercise. Let us just say that the total distance I walked was 1 to 2 kilometers. I’m not sure haha.

When I arrived home, I sat outside the house. Chairs are always available here. I surveyed the house and saw no one from my household. They’re out playing, I supposed. After a while, I entered the house, unloaded the content of the eco bag, then I started preparing for dinner. We now have fried chicken, gravy mix, and cassava tops! Also tinola. Yummy!

4
$ 9.07
$ 9.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

A typical day that will really test my patience a bit (if I experience it personally, LOL) Anyway, everything turned out better, because there were FOODS on the end. :)) Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yah, but I slept after instead of checking ahihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago