A new day, a blank canvas to fill in

6 18
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I woke up with the blissful feeling that I’ve never had in a while. My husband and our two kids who went with him to the province finally arrived home yesterday.

It was rather a surprise since they only told us they were coming when they were already a few hours away from here. The travel from here to our place in the province is one day, around (5 + 2) hours. Good thing they weren’t nauseated by the travel. According to them during the trip bound there, hubby and Dex got queasy while Davies was not. I was laughing. That’s what you get from not taking the pill.

Hubby now is washing the clothes they weren’t able to wash there. While I am here writing. It has become a normal sight for the two of us to be like this. Onlookers sometimes wonder why we have this arrangement at the same time answering their own question. It wasn’t easy during the past years having this kind of arrangement but I have already explained to my hubby that this is my life. He had no other choice but to accept me. We also agreed to respect each other and to not gossip about each other to other people.

After washing, he will be cooking the mushroom which they obtained from the province. After eating it will then be time for me to also clean-up. No one wants anyway to be cleaning up after eating. That is the pain I am willing to take because they helped me space to write my piece first. I always tell them to avoid pestering me when I am facing the device, writing.

I first hang the laundry up we washed yesterday before the other family members arrived. Before that I also prepared milk and coffee for us. I then am sipping the coffee while writing. In a few hours I will again be fed by my husband but I already told him last night I will have to maintain my diet. That should be understandable since I’m already overweight.

I realized that no matter what we have written yesterday, we always have to fill in a new blank canvas every brand new day. We can’t just reblog what we had yesterday. In here we are earning our keep and we have to maintain our creativity. Thanks to the tips of other writers, I now have my own way of creating posts twice or thrice every single day. While I encourage others as well to write their thing.

Sometimes, I get that spree in writing only to have nothing again at other times. When I don’t have anything to fill in the canvas, I read. Just anything about anything. It surprises me that even just reading a line sometimes prompt me to write already. How much rumination have I done in the past years that I could quickly come up with something?

So this is the fruit of all those reflections and wonderings during wanderings. There were those times when I really wanted to write but maybe I wasn’t ripe back then. It took me few more years before finally writing.

My sister would tell me that she likes the article I wrote at one time. Then I ask her, what article? We then search the net to check where I published it. Oh I see… I didn’t know someone would actually read and love that piece. I silently look up above and thank Him for all He had done for my hands, for my mind, and for my guts to let out my thoughts into the open. I struggled during my first year. I would only be able to manage one line to three lines. I don’t wish to follow sometimes the measures they tell us during those minor subject lessons. Because if I follow, I get my creativity dumped in an instant. I first just create something then go back to measurements later. The Haiku has measures but I insist giving my own form. Those short self-declared poems were what I managed to write during my first time in the blogosphere. Months went on when I started pouring out my soul until I could finally fill in a page or two in Microsoft word. At this moment two pages is what I can manage in a single sitting. Once I leave the page, there will then be a new tone when I come back. Still learning.

With each season comes a new level of learning that is unexpected. I hope time comes when I also wish to write my own novels. But for now, only blogs like this would do. Still, I am very grateful I could manage these 4 to 5-minute read articles.

8
$ 7.99
$ 7.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @Lejay28
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Hooray to you for having that discipline to keep writing. It's the toughest challenge, especially if it is not a real job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think when I decided to not mind criticisms for my thoughts and style of writing, that was when it became easier. Also, I respect the income i keep getting from the platform. it is like being grateful and not taking it for granted.

This comment coming from you makes me feel so good! Thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing, especially the personal kind (as opposed to being paid to write) can and will evoke feelings or stir the mind of a reader. And they will have their opinion and may even express these. But writing style is personal and need not be criticized. Your ignoring such just demonstrates how you've grown as a writer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti po safe po sila nakauwi, Saang province po ba sila nakapagbakasyon? masarap po sana iihaw ang mushroom. Dun sa Iloilo tuwing umaga, kukumuha ako mushrooms sa tuyong tambak ng dahon ng mga palay kaso mostly masarap ang mga mushrooms na tumutubo dun, tapos iniihaw ko sabay sinasawsaw sa suka. ❤❤ Skl po haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're from Ilo-ilo?! I know someone from there but just some virtual friend. Sige nga, try ko iihaw minsan. Thanks for what you shared! hetong niluto kanina is maliliit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilagay mo po sa dahon ng saging if meron po then iihaw po sa kahoy, masarap po yan. Lagyan niyo rin po agad pampalasa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago