What if there's no electricity?

0 43
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago

The luxury of electricity is normal to many of us. If it all works fine it's hard to imagine what life looks like without once used to devices with a plug.
The fridge, washing machine, smartphone, computer, television set, radio, oven and so much more can no longer function without a socket. Today I miss the good old batteries. It feels as if there's aways something to charge. Being not able to to cook, making a necessary phone call or heating the house can stress one out. It can be good to live a day or two without electricity and see what is needed to be prepared and continue life without stress.

Frequently I have a day without energy. Better not ask how many times the company was called to have a look at what caused it. It's never a fallen tree. Most likely we are with too many and there's not enough electricity for all of us. I try to save electricity and try to avoid using two electrical appliances that consume a lot of kilowatt at the same time. If the boiler is on (once a week) I do not use the washing machine or an electric heater. This doesn't mean others don't but this way I at least avoid short circuits at home.

They say 30 electric items should be enough. It sounds like a lot but the average family has way more. A phone for each member, a computer, tv, DVD player, radios, kitchen aid, power banks, vacuum cleaner, washing machine, dryer, ventilators, electric kettle, fridge, toys, toaster, electric blanket, lawnmower, heaters, hairdryers and today e-bikes and even electric cars. All that electricity needed coming from power grid ending up in a socket isn't unlimited. It could be if you use the sun, wind and water but it's not for the common man. Companies go first and next the wealthy. They even get it cheaper than the people. With us the common man is the one who pays for investing in what they call 'green energy'. Not that the energy out of the socket is green. It's the same and as 'grey' as all electricity in the country. For green electricity you pay just pay more because they electricity company spends that extra money on windmills, advertising, sponsoring some people and once in a while they plant a tree. No one knows where on earth Sa but they say they do. Hard to believe if you take into consideration nearly every city in the country cuts down trees and tries to get rid of everything that looks green instead of taking care of nature.

Today it's my electricity-off grid day again. At 3 am there was power at 5 am I was switched off. At that time of the day, it's needless to call the company. The children left for the bus stop and I stayed in bed.

We have two lamps on batteries, a bag with candles (tea lights) and a jump starter with a light, USB and another plug build in.

At 7 am it was grey outside but no longer pitch dark. Enough light to find my way. I made myself a mug of tea with the warm water in the thermos flask left from yesterday.

At 7:30 am I started the day. Curtains, blinds and windows open and time to get dressed.
I used a bit more warm water from the thermo flask and a washing cloth and soap, to wash myself. For sure this saves water and water is what I don't have. Without electricity, my water pump cannot function.

My stove by the way, isn't electric. I cook on butane so I can cook the left water for a hot cup of tea (I don't need to eat). I can't do the dishes today and do not read my e-mail. I could because I have a mobile router (charged just like my phone yesterday) but I can do without. I don't feel like being updated.
Instead I make three crossword puzzles and feed the cats. After I'm finished I go outside. It's time to feed the wolves. I have two filled water cans plus a filled bucket and in case of need 10 bottles of 2 litres each with my own tap water. I saved yesterday's rice water too.

Back inside I put the gas heater on. It works on butane too. It can not heat the entire house, not even the room where I sit but it makes a difference. I won't let it burn the entire day to save gas. Once I no longer feel so cold I switch it off and sit with the hot water bag till the children are back home. That hot water bag is filled with water so I will reuse it.

The bucket with water in the kitchen is filled. I can mop the floor and if necessary flush the toilet with it at the end of the day. With us, toilet paper is rarely flushed through the toilet.

The hallway is still a bit smelly after the cats used the litters and although I left the front door open and mopped with bleach. Time to light a stick incense. I use the flame of the gas heater. No need for Airwick or a spray.

I don't have a fridge so my food cannot get spoiled which is a plus. In the past twenty years washing machines, electric ovens, laptop batteries and much more were damaged because of electricity issues. This means I never leave adapters or plugs in sockets and what is plugged in is always switched off unless I need it.

Without electricity I can cook, heat parts of the house, I can drink my tea. I can use my phone (powerbanks) and the internet (mobile router). I can heat water on the cooker. The only thing lacking is water.

Since we never watch the telly we won't miss it. We can do without the news and not interested in watching rehearsals of rehearsals. There are plenty of books to read, we have games, can talk, write and watch a downloaded film if we like.

Water will be the main problem. At this moment I have 24 litres of drinking water but that won't be enough if I need to provide the animals with water (15 litres is the minimum), wash myself and the children, want something to drink, cook and flush the toilet only once a day. For that, I need about 35-40 litres of water a day and the laundry isn't included.
During the Summer of 2020, we did six weeks without electricity. It helps if it rains (water for the animals and to flush the toilet) but I can't count on rain. The only option is buying a generator. A few years ago I thought about it but they are very expensive plus my fear is I cannot pull hard enough to start it. An acquaintance said I could buy his since he bought a new one. He asked 1000 euros for his second hand which is too much for a generator without a warranty. So far I managed without. I can survive one or two perhaps even three days if the children visit school. It would make me feel better to be more independent if it comes to electricity. A solar panel would help as would a generator. Hopefully, I can save enough money to buy one before 2022 is over. I like to be prepared for my children and the animals since the pond I dug is empty for the biggest time of the year.


Perhaps you like this video about off-grid light?


How to survive the first 90 days after the collapse


9 Survival gardening crops


Top 10 barter items



Building your own solar panel


#blackout #offgrid #surviving #howto

#kittywu #energy #life #black

4
$ 15.00
$ 14.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago

Comments