What about friendship?

0 21
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

"Write about friendship," she said, "you have to fill two pages and no big letters!"
If there's something I don't like is writing essays at school. I glared at the paper, the pen ready in my hand but my mind remained empty. There's nothing in my head. No voices this time. "Even my voices hate essays," I murmured.
The girl sitting next to me look at me in surprise.

"Mind your own work Carol", the teacher yelled from the back of the classroom, "no cheating!"

Cheating? How can one cheat, steal ideas from a blank piece of paper? The only thing printed on it was the school's name plus there was a part to fill out my name something I didn't start with yet. I don't see any point in writing down my name just to make it easier for the teacher to give me a 0. What canine without friends writes about friendship? What makes the teacher believe I have friends? If she wasn't always drinking coffee, hiding in the coffee room (teachers only) and interested in her pupils she knew which children had to do without friends, she knew most friendships weren't friendships at all.

Suddenly my head was no longer empty and all those names of those who avoided, bullied me, children and adults popped up in my mind. Line after line I filled with the names of all those boys and girls, men and women I saw but who ignored me. At the moment the teacher announced there were five minutes left I wrote my last sentence "there are so many people but not one of those I mentioned is a friend of mine." At the last minute, I wrote my name above the paper and handed it over to the teacher.  At least she couldn't say I didn't fill two pages and what I wrote was neatly written as well. My handwriting was always good for a 10.

Prompt: what about friendship

#kittywu #freewrite #friendship

5
$ 3.26
$ 2.00 from @Fexonice1
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Sujana
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments