The inner voice

2 29
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Self-esteem how come this is an issue at all? Why do we discuss about it, suffer from a lack of it and think we are not good enough, wise enough, old enough, educated enough, strong enough to...? If it comes to it don't we all have an inner power?

To me self-esteem is not an issue. I doubt it ever really was. Most likely not. As a child, teenager I already stood for my own opinion. An attitude not each teacher liked especially not from a girl. Sorry, but I am right and I am the one who decide, decide about me, and believe in me.

I always did but what I lacked in, in many cases, was I ignored my inner voice. I know why. The fact I did so is because I am trained to ignore it. My father already said, "feelings are not important, if you have some facts you can come back". To him, it was all about facts and of course this influenced my life. I ignored the inner voice because he said I shouldn't judge a book by its cover and he said so much more. He said all those things someone with common sense, wisdom wouldn't take seriously but at that time I did. It is what little children do. They obey, do things they don't like because the adult knows better. At that time they don't see the adult is a liar, cheater, a person who judges 24/7. No child sees an adult is just keeping up appearances in the hope to be accepted or out of fear.

Each time I ignored my inner voice, my instinct I got in trouble. Serious trouble and it took me months if not years to get out of it. To solve things others did to me. Did to me on purpose. They didn't have the sleepless nights and worries I had. Their scam brought them a fortune and a good night's rest as well.

A fact is if you live in a rush, are in a hurry, depend on someone else's " knowledge" you frequently are fooled and the one who pays the bill. No matter how much people manipulate you in the end they all say the same "It was your own free choice. You did not have to do it, you could have said no!" So "no" is the magic word, no, and listening to the inner voice. The only thing that's left of the real you and knows you best. It's a no, I don't want this, and choosing for yourself is the best way to work on your self-esteem, to keep it high.

#kittywu #psychology #innervoice

9
$ 0.12
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @gertu13
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Yeah. At the end, we're just the one who is responsible to our choices now..👏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Self-esteem improves as we learn about our own abilities. The less we know our strengths and our weaknesses, the less self-esteem we will feed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago