The farmer didn't care about nature

0 22
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

It's March 29, 2021, and already late. The day passed by faster than expected. Suddenly it turned out to be 4 p.m. and by now it's 9:15 p.m. I try to remember what I did besides mowing for over one hour. It was the first time I mowed this year by the way. Two weeks later than usual and the biggest part of my "lawn", a mix of grass and weeds is still short.
In my garden, it isn't Spring yet although the grass and weeds are green and yellow. If the sun shines it might look like Summer if you ignore the trees and bushes but if you ignore the grass one should think we are still in the middle of winter.

I checked the trees and brushes but no leaves. An exception is the two cherry trees. I should say one tree, the other tree is a stick of 1.5 metres at most. It doesn't seem to grow and most likely it will be a scrub. The cherry trees have some buds. The apple tree, therefore, looks pathetic. If you ask me the biggest part of it died. I intended to plant five trees in a circle but after all those years I can only conclude trees and plants have a hard time surviving here.
All those trees I bought and planted... most of them died. They did because of the winter, drowned in the Autumn or Spring and during Summer because of a lack of water and those few left have a hard time surviving. At times I wonder if there's something wrong with the soil. Is something else causing it besides the weather circumstances, moles and ants?
As we moved in here I had to order two trucks to get rid of the garbage. After eight years I still find garbage in the soil. The farmer who once lived here did not care about nature that's for sure. He dug his trash, plastic barrels with poison included, in.

The question now is what to do with the garden. It will never look cultivated, I can not grow vegetables and the fruit trees... die.

Once the garden was a meadow. I guess that says enough. To be honest that grass looks ugly but it's easier to mow than the finer grass I once sowed at certain parts. By now that finer grass can be found everywhere except where it should be.

The wolves and moles have their own idea if it comes to gardening. An English lawn is not in their interest and I can't blame them for that. Since they live outside, it's their space and they should feel comfortable.
I have no intention to kill moles since they have their territory. If I kill one I attract more and if so my garden will look the same as the lawn in front of the new pasta factory. So while mowing today the only thing I did was flatten the molehills with the small mower. I like to keep it simple and the result isn't bad at all.

From today on I will spend more time outside. I'll start mowing what is most necessary on those days it won't rain or snow or a strong wind blows. Some parts my children have to do. Gardening is done by all of us and it depends on time, health and allergies who does most of it.

At the back of the house is a part I couldn't mow last year Autumn. It will be hard to do that part now. A trimmer or brushcutter is needed if it's too high which means a week or more work and painful shoulders, arms and back. This part of the land is also the part where some trees are planted by nature itself. I guess it was the wind. I will leave the trees since more trees mean fewer weeds and I can stop mowing underneath. Last Autumn I planted a hazelnut tree. It's a stick of only 20-30 centimetres. I hope this tree-to-be will make it and I'll taste its hazelnuts one day. My wish is to change the backyard into a small forest. That could have happened already but it did not. They say a garden needs five years to grow but if you ask me it takes way longer and it will never be finished.

What did I do with the rest of my day? I spent time on Steemit.com. With a slow connection, I mainly sit and wait, try to load and wait... It was a good day. I achieved more than expected.

#kittywu #gardening #freewrite #diary



7
$ 5.07
$ 5.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments