The end (NaNoWriMo - 20)

2 50
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: Nanowrimo, Writing, 2020, Story, Novel, ...


Of course my beloved mother knew about the spells Rosemary gave me and I tested them out. I doubt there were secrets for her. The fact she knew she mentioned herself.

"You can trust her," was what she said without any introduction, "what happened to Quirk wasn't her fault. He is one of those rare creatures responding differently to medications. She didn't try to poison him. Just be conscious and not surprised if he turns out to be immune or allergic to treatments. Keep practicing what I taught you sweetheart. Of course you can try those Rosemary gave you, the fields look fine." She winked as she added "you can ask Quirk for help."

Quirk, I wasn't sure if he had time to spend with me. After Basil left he moved to his cabin. Soon most of the huts would be empty and he intended to rebuild some for his helpers. Those he once spoke about but I had never met. He told me he had a lot to do. Next to it he kept an eye on 'animals' farm'. Not because we asked him but he was used to it. From the first day on the animals arrived he had been present. Old habits die hard in this one... well, there was no need to change it. He felt happy and that was what counted most.

After my daily walk outside, Birca and two other owls circled above me, I flipped through the book about herbs. I knew it by head, could draw all the capital letters and it was time to put it back on the shelf.

"You like that one," Carmen asked. "It's an old one but doesn't contain any stories. Look what I found. A book with tales, I just finished it. Perhaps you like to read it too? I recommend this chapter."

She left the book open on the sofa. On her way out I called her back.

"Mother?"

"Yes?"

"Will we leave?"

It was with a faint smile she told me she would not since this was her home. As long as she was invited she would take care of this part of the land, keep it safe and clean. She let out I was free to explore the world on my own.

"Can you hear me if I am out there," I asked and her answer was like usual, "yes dear, I can hear you, we all can."

------

It was at the second full moon Rosemary left with the last ones of the Titaniums. Not via the tunnels but the portal, our front door. The door that had let her in a long time ago. Each Titan carried a bundle of food, a package with meds, and a blanket similar to mine. One by one they stepped outside ready to explore present time. There was no 'we'll meet again' only a warm embrace, nod, and 'farewell'.
Like each captain, Rosemary was the last one. Suddenly I remembered I missed a person. I hadn't seen him for longer... Longbeard. My friend grinned as I asked.

"He isn't a Titanium, sweety although he stayed with us. He's an Earthling, a 'little' helper, a real one."

More words she didn't intend to waste on it. She stepped outside, inhaled deeply and embraced me for the last time.

"Bye, Isa I have to catch up with the rest."

She winked, turned around, and ran after her people. Straight forward into the same woods Carmen and I had searched for traces of the death, signs of the 'dark days', spies and hunters.

The Death there's no need to search for it. It arrives when your time is up. I read about it in the story book and specifically the chapter my mother told me to read. It's a tale about an old woman who lived with a cat, raven, ferret and wolf. Her wish was a child of her own. As she died the animals kept taking care of her land, a rich land till the child would take over.
This story, the old woman her property... it sounded like the land Basil told about. Did he read this and never overheard travelers on their way? The woman, I couldn't lay my finger on it but she felt familiar. The only difference between her land and ours was the lake. As far as I knew there was no lake where we lived. Our water came out of a well.

Moons later we harvested. Our life was good till the day Carmen alarmed us. The woods in the outside world were at fire, set at fire. Although my mother not delivered medications to the people for a long time and the owls remained home some not forgot about her. Out of rage, because they had to take care of their own health, witch-hunts were started. It was Longbeard who found out the reason and brought us the news. My mother was wanted and the villagers, if not the entire nation, was looking for her. If necessary they would burn everything down.

She told me to stay calm and inside, pack my things, and be ready to leave.

"It's time to meet the outside world, my sweetheart. I need to keep the portal save. You can use it once the fire is over or leave by the tunnels. There's no need to fear each fire will stop."

"How can I use the tunnels," was all I could ask.

"Remember the birthday gift Rosemary gave you in case of need? Perhaps this is the case but it is up to you. The portal will open and just like she did you can walk out."

"What about the animals?"

"They are safe, Mother Nature takes care but of course you can take those you love or need. Don't worry you saw it all and know we meet again because we are sisters."

She was prepared and ready to leave. Wolf stood beside her while her owls circled above her as she walked out of the door into the direction of the fire. It was the only way to stop this war, her fight.
A few days later the world outside turned into ashes. I left and so did Quirk. We didn't look back as we stepped through the portal into a new world. It was a grey, dark, smoking world, a damaged one we met. It would take time to find our way, to get used to it but we had each other, the animals and next to what Carmen once told me to take along I carried the seeds of new life.

We found it, a new world over a hill. My beloved carpenter built us a home. The land was rich and so was our life together. We sowed, had an orchard and there was even a lake.
My dear Quirk, it went slow but he grew just eternal life wasn't included. I buried him long before a wolf showed up to keep me and the cat company. On a certain day at the end of harvest time a raven chose the tree in front of our cottage for its home.

Death. It came to my beloved Birca and me. It asked for my body just like it does with anyone else but it wasn't the end. A new life, new challenges awaited me. A young body was ready for an old spirit and I arose.
If possible at all this world is even colder and darker than the one I left but I am here. Ready to fight.
She said "we'll meet again" and so did Quirk. It's only a matter of time and if it comes to time... I have plenty of it. The cave is a good place to be. I can wait.

#kittywu #nanowrimo #story #freewrite novel #nanowrimo2020 #forthechildren

8
$ 4.23
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @mooontivated
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: Nanowrimo, Writing, 2020, Story, Novel, ...

Comments

It ended at last... I need to go back to the previous chapters again to follow the story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great narrative you have done with this your series. I tried to follow them all though I wasn't making comments, they seem quite deep and reflective.

$ 0.00
3 years ago