The dream (NaNoWriMo - 9)

11 59
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

"You look... you look... so much younger..."

"Ow, you are just flattering me. It's me, good old Rosemary. Get out of bed, the day started long ago."

I stood up, stretched out and so did she. She kept surprising me. The last time I saw her she looked more dead than alive. This morning she looked reborn, younger, her hair was longer and shone like silver and she grew!

"Gosh, have you seen yourself?"

"Yes, dear this morning after I woke up and got dressed. I have a mirror you know. If I remember it well it was a present of the master who made most of the furniture in this house, the cabinets and so on."

Filled with life she jumped around me and pushed me out of my room into the direction of the kitchen.

"Look at you!" I screamed, "can you look at yourself for one second. You changed, you grew, does Basil know?"

I grabbed her shoulders and shook her. This time her head didn't shake as if it could fall of her neck any minute. She stared at her hands, at me, the room around her.

"I grew?!"

"That's what I try to tell you and your hair..."

I touched her hair. It felt soft and thick but it lost the color it once had. Her hair turned into silver. I held a piece of it in front of her eyes. The shock it brought to her was real. She tumbled in front of me and stared at the piece of hair she kept between her fingers.

"Are you alright?"

"Yes, but I don't understand... I mean... at the moment I left I was me...I tell you my hair and size... It all was still or at least..."

"At least what?"

"The me I have been lately, the past decades, no ages," she whispered. "There was a time before this time I looked different, more like the me I am looking at now."

She looked sad.

"This means you are getting you again," I said heartily, "it's a good sign."

"You think so?"

I assisted her standing up and noticed she grew a bit more. With her new size there was no way to hide underneath the rosemary, thyme or dill. She reached my knees by now and I hoped I was right and she wouldn't turn into a giant stuck into the house. She sat on a chair for the first time I met her instead of on the table and the smallest teacup had the right size for her.

"You told me you are magic, you all are. May I ask how tall you once were?"

"Taller than now but not that tall as the people today. Not as tall as Carmen."

"Did you take anything? You didn't seem feeling too well last time we spoke."

She looked at her hands and tried to remember what she had done since the last time we met.

"You better call the others."

She snapped her fingers and within a second the kitchen was filled with little gnome-like creatures. They gazed at Rosemary who's hair sparkled even more.
Basil stood on the table and held her hands proudly.

"It took longer than expected but look at you! You look gorgeous exactly the way I remember. What do you say, guys?"

They all cheered for Rosemary who became at least three times taller.

"My clothes... they no longer fit," she whispered.

Within a second one of the creatures had solved the problem with a snap of his fingers. It all went so fast I had a hard time understanding what happened.

"Sorry, I wasn't there as you woke up yesterday," she said, "I lost time."

It was that long beard stumbled over his beard and fell against the blackboard otherwise I wouldn't have read the words left behind for me again at that particular moment.

'I took one'

I looked at the cabinet where the bottles with silver liquid were stored. Carmen intended to try it out first, she would ask Rosemary to be present. That night we decided not to call her. As far as I could remember she never did, not even mentioned trying it out.

"You took one, you used the bottles with the silver liquid? Basil... did you give her one? Did you test it out?"

He nodded. They all stood there, nodded and grinned.

"We all took it but she was the first because her case was the worst. You saw her."

Total amount of words: 3132

#kittywu #nanowrimo #tale #nanowrimo2020 #forthechildren

9
$ 0.52
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Jubair1764
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

What ever did happen to rosemary. Did she get sick or acquired an illness of sorts?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rosemary, and the rest of the clan, changed into the tiny creatures Isa met. They made a deal to escape from the war(s). She indeed became ill, or being little didn't work out after such a long time, and she 'changed'/became ill indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh so this was the changes finally catching up to her. I wonder if you'll be discussing the other world they came from in more detail as you continue your tale

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The clan (Rosemary and the other magic ones) are Titans or at least there ancestors were. I doubt their history will add anything to this tale. If you know who the Titans were it's enough. We all here do because it's part of history, religion or how you like to call it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So just decendents at most, but i wonder why they became so tiny. Titans are giants, after all so now I'm just left wondering 😅😅😅 i hope you can publish the next part soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article, wish to have more from you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I write stories. There is more, way more posted in the six months I am here. You just need to have a look at the community (short) stories and tales or the community Diaries or scroll through my account.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear your article goo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This good article Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice story written

$ 0.00
3 years ago