Test subject

0 38

One, two, three,

One, two, three... the nurse repeated, her voice boomed through the empty hall and my head felt like it was exploding. I wish she didn't have such a nasty voice, there was nothing melodious in it. Unobtrusively, I tried to look sideways at my friend Tim. He looked even worse than I did and I felt bad for him, he was so tiny.

Those stupid tests? I didn't care much about them, by now I was used to daily pain and side-effects.

Kay, look ahead, nurse Agnes' voice echoed.

She towered over me menacingly, I think she is related to the Lochness Monster. I chuckled and was rewarded with a slap to my face the sound of it echoed through the building.

Kay, this is your final warning!

I felt how the others froze in fear and bit my lower lip. Not out of fear but to keep me from laughing. In here we laugh about the weirdest things.

Rotten burps, these words apparently showed on my face. She pulled me out of the line by my hair while snapping at me: That's good enough for an extra test you, disobedient rotten kid!

I winked at Tim and shrugged. An extra test for me meant that one of the children lined up did not have to participate today. I was hoping it would be Tim. The Lochness Monster's offspring stormed to the front of the line, dragging me along with a grim face.

One, two, three, one, two, three... her voice echoed through the hallway, one, two, three, ...

“Stick to the beat if you don't want to make the nurse angry,” sang a thin voice. Was it Tim?

Here she is, nurse Agnes growled as she threw me into the arms of a guard, this is today's test subject. She's more than willing to undergo some extra tests, aren't you Kay? There was no point in answering her, that creature didn't care about what I wanted and neither did the stupid guard.

The last thing I saw was Tim's pale face as he shuffled past me, hopefully seeing my encouraging smile before the monster slammed the door to my face.

20230513_115706.jpg

Een, twee, drie,

Een, twee, drie... herhaalde de verpleegster en wij liepen in de maat. Haar stem dreunde door de lege hal en mijn hoofd voelde alsof het zou exploderen. Ik zou willen dat zij niet zo'n nare stem had er zat werkelijk niets melodieus in. Onopvallend probeerde ik opzij te kijken naar mijn vriend Tim. Hij zag er nog belabberder uit dan dat ik. Ik voelde mij nog beroerder bij het zien van zijn gezicht, hij was nog zo klein.

Die stomme tests? Die konden mij niets schelen inmiddels was ik gewend aan dagelijkse pijn en vele bijwerkingen.

Kay, kijk voor je, galmde de stem van zuster Agnes.

Dreigend torende zij boven mij uit, volgens mij is zij familie van het monster van Lochness. Ik grinnikte en werd beloond met een oorverdovende klap om mijn oren.

Kay, dit is jouw laatste waarschuwing!

Ik voelde hoe de anderen om mij heen verstijfden van schrik en beet op mijn onderlip. Niet uit angst maar om te voorkomen dat ik in lachen zou uitbarsten iets wat hier gebeurde om de gekste dingen.

Rot wijf, dacht ik en dat was schijnbaar te lezen op mijn gezicht. Zij sleurde mij aan mijn arm uit de rij terwijl zij mij toebeet: Dat wordt een extra test voor jou, ongehoorzaam rot kind!

Ik knipoogde naar Tim en haalde mijn schouders op. Een extra test voor mij betekende dat een van de kinderen in deze rij hieraan vandaag niet hoefte deel te nemen. Ik hoopte dat het Tim zou zijn.

De nazaat van het monster van Lochness stampte aan de rij kinderen voorbij naar voren terwijl zij mij met een verbeten gezicht meesleurde.

Een, twee, drie, een, twee, drie..., galmde haar stem door de gang, een, twee, ...

"In de maat anders wordt de zuster kwaad", zong een ijle stem. Was het Tim?

Hier, gromde zuster Agnes, terwijl zij mij in de armen van een bewaker smeet, dit is het proefkonijn van vandaag. Zij ondergaat maar wat graag een paar extra tests, is het niet Kay?

Het had geen zin om een antwoord te geven op die vraag, het kon dat mens toch niets schelen wat ik wel of niet wilde en die stomme bewaker evenmin.

Het laatste wat ik zag was Tim's bleke gezicht toen hij voorbijschuifelde, hopelijk zag hij mijn bemoedigende glimlach voordat het loeder de deur met een smak voor mijn neus dichtsmeet.

The photo was taken by me

24-1-2024

I am a mobile writer only

3
$ 0.00

Comments