Taking care of clothes

4 40
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

If there's one thing we don't have in our house its wardrobes. You know one of those closets where clothes hang. We never had many clothes. What we wear is washed and as soon as it is dry we put it back on. So two or three sets of clothes are enough for us. We no longer distinguish between summer and winter clothes. This is different from when I was growing up.

Small children grow up and there comes a time when they get more clothes or start buying them themselves. Piles of clothes on a chair, desk, or bed are not practical. So I bought a "mobile" wardrobe online. When it was delivered I was shocked (very small box and the tubes are so thin plus you need to put the tubed together with plastic connectors. These tubes barely fit in here. Force must be applied but too much will break the tubes. So patience is required to assemble this puzzle and some forethought is recommended too.

20221024_170258.jpg

The cupboard in the photo is not a great one and it remains to be seen how long it will last. I intend to make small boards from chipboard to put on the tubes of the "shelves", otherwise, it will be just 1 pair of socks, 1 shirt, and a shirt.

By the way, this is not the cupboard I ordered and the first one delivered was incomplete. This one also has some damaged tubes but I will keep it. Although I don't think this wardrobe is worth the amount I paid, I have to be realistic. There is nothing else that fits my budget.

20221024_170009.jpg

The cover to be pulled over the frame of the cabinet is too small. There is no way I can use it. So I untwisted a seam at the top to solve this problem. Next, I stitched it together manually.

This wardrobe reminds me of an Ikea one from years ago. Although the frame of that wardrobe was made of wood, it was also trimmed with plastic. Those shelves couldn't take much weight either. It was a nuisance just like the plastic cubes I once bought.

When I think back to everything I ever spent money on and got rid of, it makes me sad but I can't live in a cramped house so I tidy up. Clothes in a closet are part of that. Anything lying around doesn't get any better. I prefer to be frugal with what I have. Sewing broken clothes are now also done by the children themselves.

Would I recommend this wardrobe? The answer is no, but what applies to me may also apply to others: you can't spend more than you have. In any case, my child is happy with it.

Let's hope the pain in my hands due to pushing the many tubes together will be over soon.

#life #ccc #contest #lookingback #clothes #kittywu

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

Comments

My wardrobe is really stuffed… not the kind I would be proud to show

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that my friend. Sometimes we expect a lot to our orders but ended up not good because of what we received in real. I relate to you my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that. The only plus of ordering online is I can send it back but one gets tired of that too. This time I made the best out of it and the extra shelves are added. My child has a wardrobe and if not too much is put in it it will work. The end result isn't bad it's just another throwaway item that's produced. It's hard to find quality these days. 🍀♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True my friend. It's really hard to find now those having a good quality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago