So much to do

6 36
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, 2021, Lifestyle, Diary, Life, ...

My back hurts so I hope it will not give up on me because there are still so many things to do. It was hard to wake up this morning but you know how it works... You wake up, need to visit the bathroom, go back to bed, tell yourself you stay for two more hours, cannot sleep, think of the past, future, a series you are watching and suddenly it's 9:30 a.m.

I sent the children out to buy their bus tickets because school starts again. Next to that, I needed more paint and on the way back the youngest could drive on the land road. It's long enough to practise driving, the clutch and breaks. Next Summer it's her time for driving lessons and if you teach one child you cannot let the other drop-dead beside the more experience the fewer lessons they need which saves time and money. I don't count on passing the driving test the first time since that rarely happens over here especially not if you are a girl. If everyone would pass the first time there wouldn't be as many offices in the country and the organization and its employees would be jobless. It's as simple as that. If you are familiar with a car, know how to drive it helps and you feel more secure.

So my children left while I was left in a house that was messy but first comes. Repairing the wall in my bedroom and the laundry.

What is on it comes down and the wall smells? It isn't easy to repair it but I did it before and to be honest, I don't care if it looks super since my bed will be placed in front of it. The only thing I want is a wall that doesn't fall apart and doesn't smell. At least there were no big crawling around which means it isn't as humid as it was a few years ago.

It took me longer than expected and indeed it isn't finished. It's a wall of 4 meters and there are holes in it. The material I used is meant for outside and I hope this is a better solution. You cannot see it in this picture but my hand fits behind the green next to the socket.

After the first step, I hung the laundry outside, did the dishes, more laundry and I fed the wolves, took care of the cats and the house looked a bit better at the time the children arrived home. It will be messy for the next few days if not weeks because I am at work inside and outside the house. Where depends on the weather.

Yesterday we could pick up the car a few minutes before they closed. The window is repaired and you know what? I haven't been in the car for? Since my child has his driver's license it's me driving in the back seat or staying at home.

Here is what is replaced in the car's door. The motor was good but the part they ordered didn't fit with the motor. That yellow part is a piece of plastic which holds the window and it's broken. The wire isn't but curled up, was a bit tangled so something went wrong inside (the noise made that clear to me). I am happy this problem is solved although it cost me 50 euros more than they said it would be.

After a break, I continued cleaning up. The litterbox of the cats, more walls and after that I worked on the window frame again. The first one has finished this one received its second layer of primer. I hope to paint it green tomorrow and finish painting as soon as possible. It's getting colder outside and I have to leave my windows open (let's hope it won't rain again).

Back pain or not there is more work to do and some choruses are easier done with two.

I decided to saw more wood and asked the youngest to help me. Bending forward isn't the biggest issue but getting up straight is. It went slow but faster than expected (still 1.5 till 2 hours of work) but I managed to sawn two wheelbarrows with wood. More than I expected and after that, I cleaned up the yard a bit.

This won't be enough to survive the winter. Perhaps I can buy some extra timber but first I like to know how much I need to pay for electricity. I pay every month but once a year (September) they send me a bill what to pay extra. For the past year's it's always extra never a refund. It feels a bit bitter since we really live a simple life. No luxury, no fridge, no dryer, no airco, we never watch tv or have the radio switched on. We are those people who always try to save energy and sit in the dark for as long as possible. Last Winter I didn't buy wood so the only way we had to stay warm were blankets and electric heather. I checked the Kwh it used and decided not to use it any longer. I can tell you it was cold! Extremely cold although we didn't have had the coldest Winter. For this year I hope to buy some (electric) foot warmers. Children suffering from Winter's toes is bad and it shouldn't be this way.

I put the big pieces aside. This doesn't fit into my stove and the saw won't get through it neither will the axe I have. It's not worth buying a machine to do the job for me so hopefully, someone will stop by and give me a hand one day. There are more of these pieces. The guy who sold me small pieces of timber (20 centimetres max) simply dumped them at the bottom of the truck. Once I told him to come back and pick it up... these I forgot. For the time being its art in the yard.

The roof is repaired or I should say those parts of the wood missing are replaced. It's good to have children who are handy and not afraid to climb 3 meters high. The varnishing will be on my account but I need to stretch my back first and hopefully, it feels better in the morning. To be honest I am not looking forward to them going back to school again but it might be easier if I do not need to drive up and down 4 to 8 times a day if they can drive to the bus stop together which would save me time and gasoline.

#kittywu #life #diary #diy

10
$ 13.65
$ 13.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wooozii
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, 2021, Lifestyle, Diary, Life, ...

Comments

Hmm. I can relate it when there's no one to help you do the chores or repairs. I am more relieved now because I have my 15 year old son to assist me in light repairs and loadings and unloading of heavy things around the house when their father is away. Hope you feel better tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My children give me a hand too. Always did from the age of two years old but they should have time for themselves too. Another problem is they have frequently a backache too. ☹

I am happy with everything they do, glad I do it myself because it saves me a lot of money. I hope before winter starts most of it is done.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Back ache? Oh dear. Yeah, we save a lot of money if we do the task ourself. But there are still some task that we needed to hire somebody for the job. Yesterday, I just paid an electrician for installation of light to our comfort and bathroom. It costs 10usd. 500 in Peso. But he is my uncle so it's still cheaper than the regular labor. If only my son knew about wirings, I should be saving more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You got to have a very long day. You did a lot. Such a productive day for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always long days. I wonder how I have had two jobs next to this for so many years. 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really are good in managing your time, that is why! How I wish, I can manage my time too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago