Rice - this is brutal

2 43
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Food, Column, Rice, Writing, ...

I used to eat a lot of rice but in recent years I hardly did. Back then my youngest said rice is food mom eats. Indeed you can wake me up for a bowl of plain rice, but it is no longer my daily meal. There is so much to eat plus I hardly eat these days.

Last weekend, I was cleaning up and found a bag of rice. To my surprise, there were bugs in it. The bag is unused and to throw it away now. I just put it outside on the windowsill. For the next few days, I kept studying the bag. A day later, the pests seemed to become more sluggish and the day after, dead. Meanwhile, I no longer see the pest. Could it have crawled into the middle of the bag? It will definitely be a bit warmer there than on top of the rice which, although in a sealed bag, was in the night frost twice.

I wonder what it is that crawls around in that bag but don't feel like finding out. For now, the bag lies there just fine.

I was planning to give the rice to the chickens but don't think I will. In a while, I'll empty it and see what's in it. Maybe all the little monsters are hibernating in my rice? How did they get into that bag? Is such a bag not sealed properly by the factory or did these critters come with the rice and end up in the bag that way?

20221021_163604.jpg
Pot 1.8 liters: 1 cup rice + 2 cups of water. What if I cook more rice and need more water?

Talking about rice. I bought a rice cooker. According to the many reviews, it is a good one. Unfortunately, I got the Monday morning model again, a failure in other words. Several times I tried to steam rice but it always failed. The rice was never cooked and always burned. It didn't matter if I used a lot or little water. There is a hole in the lid of the rice cooker. I say hole because the diameter is 1 centimeter and that is big, too big. As soon as the rice cooker was switched on, it spurted out all the water while shaking the lid. So with such a rice cooker, it's not easy to cook rice without standing by. I had to cover everything with cloths.

When so much water squirts out, it makes sense that the rice won't cook. To be honest, cooking rice with a pan on the fire is much easier. It also keeps the kitchen much cleaner.

I would have liked the Russel Hobbs but, to be honest, the name sounds more interesting than the device looks.

Why my rice doesn't cook I did look up. So the reason is not me, because some of the people with the same rice cooker deal with the same issues. It's down to the heating element. I am not the only one with whom the water sprays through the kitchen like a fountain. I am not the only one with whom the lid won't stay on and rattles continuously expecting it to fly up at any moment. I don't want a rice cooker that doesn't work and can only make burnt, cold, unready rice while everything is covered in rice water. I hate cold rice, I had that as a child just ask my grandmother. I filed a complaint and today the monster was collected. Now I am waiting until I receive the purchase price back and then I will see if there is a rice cooker that does get the rice cooked. Maybe I'll start using the critter rice to test it. I wash rice before I use it anyway.

Then if there is tasty rice that is ready within 15 to 20 minutes, I can go back to eating rice, making a rice cake and who knows, I might try making rice ice cream. Rice ice cream would be very much eaten this year. I think it's just frozen rice pudding what do you think? I need to look up a rice ice cream recipe too.

20221023_105545.jpg

20221023_105516.jpg

#column #kittywu #rice #life

3
$ 1.76
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Food, Column, Rice, Writing, ...

Comments

Rice is one of the most delicious foods, the appetite has opened "I miss him"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Does this bug was a small crawling black in color? It's actually normal in some rice that is left behind for months, they have these tiny eggs. The best thing about this bug is that they lay eggs at the bottom of the sack, so it meant the uppermost wasn't that affected much. In my country in the Philippines, we harvest rice and store them in a cool and dry place, but because of over storage there was this build-up, still, we consumed the uppermost, and the lower will be used for animal feeds, rice is expensive thou hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago