Revenge

5 34

At work


"Where are you going?"
"I need to check something out."
"Now?! Come on Jim I know it's a long day but someone has to keep an eye on those gardeners and you are the best man to guard and guide them."
"Sorry, sis, but I am in a hurry."
He slammed the door behind him. There was no need to stay nor reply to her. When had she ever answered him? No one ever did and it was time he confronted all those people with it himself. That gossiper across the street for example. What or who made her keep her mouth shut about that particular day? For sure she knew more. He knew she did. It was the doctor who had reminded him of that detail. It was evidence no one would deny.

Self-assured he knocked at the door. The tiny women opened it with the chain lock still on it and peeped outside.
"You can open the door Mrs. Gordon the police already knows what you did."
The woman hesitated.
"They know you lied and we both know what that means..."
Jim pressed the button of the recorder in his hand. He had tested it and the microphone was way better than expected.
He looked at her face and waited for her to invite him in.
With a bang the door closed. What on earth was she doing? He stayed for at least ten minutes. As nothing happened he turned around ready to leave. He knew enough. The way she responded made it clear he was right.
"Wait! Please, don't leave."
A few minutes later Jim sat at Mrs. Gordon's kitchen table.
"Let me put on the kettle first. It's tea time. I never missed tea time in my entire life. I..." her voice faltered, "I'm sorry, I'm so sorry."
Totally unexpected she started to cry.
"I didn't mean to hurt you. I know it's no excuse and I can't make it up to you but..."
Jim wasn't used to crying women. The past years he had spent alone. No one had visited him after his sister left or spoken a word of comfort. He pressed the button of the recorder and waited. Waited till the woman stopped crying. He didn't feel for her, didn't buy her excuses. It all had come too easily. That woman didn't regret anything and he didn't feel the need to show any consolation. Once she stopped crying she would tell him what happened on that specific day. The day they all confessed nothing happened, his daughter never existed and he lost his mind. He placed the boot on the table and drank his tea.
"It was you. You took her away from me and placed the boot in my garden days after I reported her disappearance. Why did you do it? Was it out of revenge or envy?"
"He can't help it" she whispered while squeezing a dishcloth in her hands, "he loves her, he told me he does even more than you do... He takes good care of her, I am sure he does."

Device: mobile phone

Egg timer: 10 minutes

Prompts: first sentence + revenge

A freewrite with two given prompts posted on Steemit first.

#steemit #kittywu #story #freewrite

12
$ 0.15
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Sajib

Comments

Nice article. . . Support me please sis

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks like an Agatha Christye story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Which one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read a lot of Agatha stories when I was a teenager, but now I can't even remember the titles. I only remember plots or cuts of plots.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only have one book of her and some old black and white movies. Perhaps I should watch them again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have any books by her. My older sister bought them and took them to her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this an excerpt from a book? It works interestingly. Tell us more about it. Thank you very much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago