Quirk's take (NaNoWriMo - 19)

2 35

"Gosh," was my first response as I saw him.

Nervously he wobbled back and forth.

"I couldn't help I overheard you," he whispered, "it's because... because you are always in my mind... and...," he stuttered and gave himself a harder time than needed," if you leave... if... I know... you didn't make up your mind yet... but if... I come along with you."

He looked relieved that he finally confessed what upset him.

"I hope this is what you want."

He nodded.

I remembered how he had mentioned it before. If this was what he wanted who was I to forbid it? His life would change, not immediately but it would.

"Then... is it all right with you?"

It was my turn to nod.

"You can come inside if you like. There's no need to do this alone."

It was in my room he opened the bottle and swallowed its contents. It felt weird. By now everyone had taken the luminous liquid except me. It made the Titans grow, change back into the people they once ought to be. Rick had used more than one dose and turned into someone different. I assumed it saved Carmen's life although, she still wasn't the one she once was. Now dear Quirky decided to take it to be tall enough to stay with me. What more had he overheard except for the Titan's decision to leave with the next full moon?
Since I had no idea how it worked I suggested he slept over at my place till I knew for sure it was safe to let him go back.

"How do you feel," I asked.

"The same. It tasted fine. Nothing guggles inside of me. Am I taller yet?"

"I don't think so."

He looked disappointed.

"Who gave it to you?"

"Rosemary."

He blushed as he added to it she had visited him to ask him to take care of me. 'She likes you way more than Rick' is what she said and next, she handed me the bottles. I have two more. She said they no longer needed it and it would..." he hesitated and his face even turned redder than anything I had ever seen. He must have read the big question on my face... "it expires my life," it's what she said.

"How does she know?"

Quirk shrugged his shoulders. "It's worth trying or? If I become mortal I can't be with you."

"Perhaps we should inform Carmen but it can wait till tomorrow. She needs some extra time for herself and Wolf. You like something to drink?"

"No thanks I am fine. I like to sleep for a while though."

After I tucked my friend in he immediately fell asleep. From one moment to the next he lost his energy. I observed him for a while till I decided to check on Carmen. As I entered the living it was empty. For a moment I sat on the sofa lost in thoughts. How come every single minute something asked for my attention? I didn't feel too well.

'Just a second I'll stretch out and after that, I check on mom,' I told myself.

As I awoke Carmen sat next to me and held my hand.

"Just a minute and you can sleep further dear," she whispered, "no need to stand up yet. I checked on him. He is sound asleep. Can you tell me what he took?"

"It was Rosemary, she gave it to him. He has two more, till eternity... that's the idea, his or hers I don't know."

With this episode I wrote 51,117 words and... the story isn't finished. I try to do so in the last episode.

#kittywu #freewrite #novel #nanowrimo #forthechildren

3
$ 0.42
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

So he has too many silver potiin with jim. I don't think quirk will grow any taller though. I always thought he was a gnome of sorts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He did in the end as they left. You cannot drag around with a dwarf it gnome in the normal world. They had a good life together I guess. He was a great friend and stayed close. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago