Pure fun

0 38

I'm tired, tired and all I want is to sleep. What do you think, doc, shouldn't we humans hibernate just like our distant ancestors?

I cannot deny that the entire group looks exhausted although, none of us have been really active.

My stomach hurts, Birgit complains, do I really have to join this session?

How bad is it, I ask.
Birgit is not the type to complain about aches and pains. I haven't seen her eating in the last few days and I don't remember seeing her in the communal living room either. Her cup of tea sits untouched on the table.

Go ahead, I say, the doctor will still be there. Let him know your complaints before you go to bed.

How about us, Tom asks as Birgit quietly closes the door behind her.

You know the rules. It doesn't matter who stays here of their own free will, the group sessions are mandatory. Let's go for a walk, maybe that will help us feel better.

I get up excitedly and grab my coat.

Let's go, let's take those bags with us and put everything in the giveaway cabinets. After that, as far as I'm concerned, you can go to bed and hibernate.

Jane stands up silently and puts on her coat. She lifts the bag with books. I know that she prefers not to go outside because there too it is teeming with bacteria, viruses and bacilli.

Let me carry that, Sam says, it's way too heavy.

Jane and Sam, what a strange couple, I think. The silent Sam only mumbles in the background while Jane is always in the foreground with her pedantic comments, or at least she was until recently.

Come on Luc, we're going out, Tom shouts as he grabs Luc by the arm. Don't ruin this for me, man, after this it's time for bed! There's nothing better than sleeping on a grey day while the rain patters on the roof. Let's fill those cabinets quickly, there are always people who are happy with these things.

There is no longer any evidence of Tom's lethargy or fatigue. He is happy that he can go out on the street.

What do you hold in your hand, I ask Luc.

It's a letter for...

You know that's not allowed, right? No emails, no cards, no text messages, no calls and no letters in the mail.

He stares at the envelope in his hand and stuffs it in his pocket.

I'd rather stay here, I don't mind walking around outside in the cold. His voice cracks.

Like it or not, we're going outside now. You don't have to say anything, as long as you stay with the group it's ok. Luc walks with us like a beaten dog. His ego has been hurt since the group let him know what it thinks about his stalking.

It's strange how one obsession is punished more than another, it just depends on what society finds acceptable.


We arrive at the first box. Tom places the items neatly in it. It is the first time that I have noticed how neat he is, he has a lot in common with Jane but without the hygiene problems that deprive Jane of all the pleasure in her life.

We slowly stroll through the village. Tom leads the way, followed by Jane and Sam and behind me I walk with Luc who clearly shows his dissatisfaction with his attitude.

The streets are deserted, it looks like a ghost town, Tom shouts, there is ' het Boekwinkeltje'! Come on Sam, put everything inside so we can go home. Birgit is waiting for me.


Together, Jane and Sam put the books that we no longer read in the cabinet.


It's a shame to give them away, Sam mutters.

You shouldn't keep everything, all those dust bunnies! Startled, Jane puts a hand over her mouth. She had decided to remain silent, not to offend anyone so that she could stay. Being inconspicuous like Sam is what she wants so that everyone forgets about her being around.

You're right, I say, ownership takes time and is a concern. You should be able to enjoy what you have, excess is harmful. These books now get the chance to be read again. Someone else will definitely be happy with this. Let's go home.
Jane looks at me with relief and then puts in the pass. She wants to be back in her familiar, clean environment as soon as possible.

Luc, are you coming?

Luc turns around, startled. His face is as red as a tomato.

What are you doing there?

A crumpled letter sticks out of one of the books.

It's not what you think, he stammers, this letter is for the new owner of this book, it's pure fun no stalking just for...

Before he can finish his sentence I pull the letter out of the book where it disappears in my pocket. 

Greetings from the 6th floor
20-10-2023




The photos were taken today, a rainy day, by my youngest

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments