Picking up the car

0 33
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: News, Column, Writing, Life, 2021, ...

Today, September 21, 2021, isn't over yet but it feels like a chaotic day. Yesterday I spend most of the hours catching wasps. I tried to figure out where they hide but couldn't discover their nest.
Hours were wasted, a lot of sprays was used and each time I entered the hallway new wasps flew around. The sound they made was annoying I heard it through the entire house. I emptied the hallway in my search for the queen. Clouds of wasps surround me and indeed it felt like a Hitchcock movie. I and the cats locked ourselves inside.

Today it's still messy inside. It's not possible to ventilate the house. Early this morning (before 7 a.m.) I did not spot a single wasp. Right after I said that the first one flew through the living and more followed. Are they taking revenge on me or is this coincidence? The three wasp catchers I filled with great mulberry marmalade are untouched. What a waste.

Although school started again the teachers seem to be busy frequently. Last week the youngest had online schooling again and the bus kid has many hours to kill. Today it's out of school earlier again. This means within 45bminutes I have to leave for the city and kill over 4 hours till we can pick up the car we bought last Saturday. I hope it's ready and all this rushing and waiting will be rewarded.

Once someone said I am not a patient person. Although I always wait, am at the end of the line, people easily ignore and forget me I think it's true. I didn't think it was true at that time though. Perhaps it took time to realize it or perhaps the fact I am still wasting most of my time waiting made me impatient after all these years. Some facts are hard to change. It's not that people notice how I feel... I wait like always and most of the time don't care.
"How used people spending their time in waiting rooms," my child once asked since today everyone is focused on his mobile phone which means there's no reason any longer not to hang a clock at the wall. In a world so focused on time, being in time I always wonder why especially doctors do not care about a clock in the waiting


It's 11 a.m. and I have to leave already. First I will feed the cats and give some water to the wolves. I suddenly remember the car cannot be picked up before 3 p.m. no idea why but this means my child and I need to kill some time. We'll meet at the bus station in the capital city of the province.
Before a new roundabout, there are some shops I never visited. Perhaps it's time to have a look inside?

I eat cheese (no carbs) at the parking lot while my child eats something else. It feels like those holidays we spent. Walking or driving around, eating while sitting on the sidewalk and watching people. No one disturbs us, no phones, quality time together.

Those shops aren't bad at all just the outside looks like a dump. One sells mainly male clothes and more quality. The other shop has a lot in common with the Action. For sure this is a place to visit. They sell incense and even the kind I like. The fact it's 30% cheaper than at the only shop I know in the wide-area makes it more interesting too. I only buy some parts so my child can fix some cables.



2:00 p.m.
Time to cruise through the city and pick up the youngest from school.
A guy knocks on my window: Do you speak...
You have to pay if you want to park here. He points in the direction where to find a machine.
First time I hear these are paid parking lots. The machine looks brand new and there's not a single sign mentioning I have to pay. No problem I will drive around still I spot my child.
Next time I will park at the supermarket and we'll meet there.

The worst you can buy. Old maps and no way to update. Broke in a year. Battery always empty. Customer service never responds.


3:00 p.m.
In time at the car seller and while the youngest and I wait the bus-kid goes to collect the car. It takes and takes so I decide to have a look.
"He said one minute and left," my child says as I show up. I decide to have a look myself plus a look at the other cars for sale. Nothing within my budget. That "one minute" took over one hour! More paperwork and two keys. I took a jerry can of gasoline with me because the car is empty. Bad service these days. The first car I bought came with a full tank and a bunch of flowers. At that time car sellers invested in customers.
Although there are two gas stations nearby I will visit another one. One tank will cost me about 70 euros. The price of gasoline is getting higher it's better to think before your tank.

5:45 p.m.
While the bus-kid visits the gas station and refills the empty jerry cans (always good to be prepared) the youngest and I visit the provider. For months the phone number cannot be used to make phone calls. We heard all kinds of small excuses and to be honest I don't believe a word of it. Suddenly the message is gone (not allowed to make phone calls) but after he had a look at the computer, used my ID and all the paperwork.
The food at the takeaways doesn't look very tasty. It was more as if someone sat down on it. We decide to buy something in the supermarket before we drive home. It's getting late.

Something small wrapped in bacon looks attractive but the price is not. Over three euros. If I see these prices I wonder how people can afford them. A piece of meat the size of the fist of a just born baby.


We eat some slices of meat in the car. The new car is a Ford and my child is satisfied so fae. Two keys, the handbrake and clutch work fine. The engine makes a bit of a strange sound if you stand outside. There was a lot of traffic but my child managed to follow me back home.

"Do you want to drive in it," the bus-kid asked but I feel too tired. The wolves need water and a treat, the cats are waiting. I couldn't drink enough and my feet are killing me (like I once wrote they are not made for walking).

"Another time I will."

We check the motor and after that's it's back at work. It was a long day, too long. I put the kettle on and bake omelettes with bacon. To be honest I am not hungry lately. I feel stuffed. The syrup waffles left I give to the bus-kid.

My daughter texts she received her very late birthday present I ordered at AliExpress. I text back we picked up the car. Picking up the car from 11 a.m. till 7 p.m. is too long. Tomorrow I stay home.


#kittywu #diary #life #september #car

6
$ 5.68
$ 5.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Zainy
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: News, Column, Writing, Life, 2021, ...

Comments