Peel

0 22

Burns are extremely painful, not only caused by boiling water or fire, but also by the sun.

As a child I saw my grandmother badly burned from sitting in the shade. That was a completely new experience. She did not make a sound when large wounds appeared on her shoulders, upper back and neck. They seemed to heal quickly. In addition to scabs, dead skin was also hanging there. Grandma often had her shoulders covered, so it is a mystery to me that she could get such extreme burns.

From a distance I looked at the wounds that Grandma had become richer in such a short time. And that only by sitting in the shade, under a palm tree, if I remember correctly. While my mother was busy peeling off her own skin, grandma asked me to give her a hand. Peel it off, she said. I obediently did what was asked of me, but I didn't think it was an enjoyable job. Of course it wasn't possible to pull everything off at once, but to be honest, grandma looked a lot more decent.

By the time we returned home, grandma, like mother, was nicely tanned. The neighbors and anyone who would meet the white lady of note after her return would at least notice this and at least all the holiday suffering would not have been in vain.

1
$ 0.00

Comments