Not so hard was it?

0 44

Does it taste? There's no reason to waste good food.

She did not say a word it felt as if she hadn't heard what the couple in front of her said.

Still, shocked?

Nothing wrong with her, the nurse replied, as they asked her why Jane had more in common with a statue than a human being.

How about a trip outside, Tom suggested to Brigit.

Are we allowed?

We can ask Doc. I heard Sam has a boat, we can sail away and let a fresh wind do the trick. Always inside makes a person sick.

Do you think so?

Of course, we need a kur at the shore. Sea, sun, a nice, warm breeze to complete. Wouldn't that be the best recipe for the soul? When was the last time you left the sixth floor?

She didn't dare to say she couldn't recall and above all was afraid of the world outside. Instead, she said: Tom what should I wear, I never go out.

You look just fine dear, you are perfect the way you are.

For sure Tom made Brigit's day even if it only lasted for 15 minutes.

What did she say, I asked, was she happy to see you two?

No response, the nurse says she's fine, I had the last cookies, Brigit declared. There's nothing we can do. She seems to ignore us as if the broken cable is our mistake.

Can't we just take her out? How about a day trip for our group? Sam, what do you say?

Why do you ask me?

I heard you have a boat...

Fine, no problem, whatever you want but don't blame me if you fall overboard.

Tom smiled, he didn't care about the danger, what Sam said was not worth responding to he joined the group out of free choice and rarely used his room on the 6th floor. The guy seemed to have money enough to afford it.

How about you Luc, I wanted to know since he recently joined us and I did not know yet if he still was mad at me for Jane stealing my attention.

Fine, was all he said, while he kept staring at the place where the broken light fell. Not that there was anything left to see. It was spotless clean.

I'll talk to Jane, the doctor and nurse. It's up to her if she goes, but we might need an extra hand, perhaps from her husband. Jane should not spoil it for the rest. I'll do my best.

Sam, let us know when it's possible. I hope you understand we cannot travel to Land's end.

Sam did not blink his eyes once, but I know he heard what I said. It was time to pay a visit to Jane. Being upset wouldn't bring her a step further nor better their relationship with the group, her family and most of all husband.

A kick under her arse is what she needs, I mumbled, she's spoiled to the bone. It wouldn't hurt her to grow up.

I never met a stronger and more healthy woman than Jane. True, she did mainly complain and her obsession with hygiene was disturbing but she could change. There was no longer a reason for her to stay on the sixth floor. I waited a few minutes before I knocked at her door. Did she just make a phone call?

I entered Jane's room and opened her closet. Her suitcase and bag were set on the bottom. Both I placed on the bed. One by one I placed them in the suitcase, next threw her shoes in the bag.

What are you doing, she asked. Take your hands off my stuff!

It's time to leave dear, you don't need to stay here. Can't you see? You are as healthy as one can be. This hospital needs your bed urgently. Your husband waits outside. Consider yourself blessed.

I don't want to leave, Jane confessed, I can't go. You know, I can't go. Please, let me stay.

Sorry, girl but there is no way I can do that. You refuse to talk, poison the atmosphere, and we'll soon go on a boat trip together. You are here too long anyway. There's no need to proceed. Your obsession is not real.

I'll stay. Just let me take care of my face a bit, I promise you won't regret it. Jane ignored her packed suitcase and bag, each word I said, and hurried into the bathroom

After a quick wash, and getting dressed she looked better than I ever could have guessed, even put on some makeup. She knew she wouldn't get another chance.

I had to paint my face a bit, she mumbled, as she stepped outside. Let's go out for a trip.

This had been her last solo dance. The apathy was gone. Jane looked reborn, knew she had to do her best to get along with the rest or she would be sent home!

Greetings from the 6th floor

October 1st, 2023

brim-7634277_1920.jpg

source photo

2
$ 0.00

Comments