Not a duck!

0 30

I'm keeping an eye on you, growled the black creature at the kitchen door, while showing its snow-white teeth. They glistened in the sun and were the most beautiful shiny things he had ever seen.

That's what friends are for, it thought happily, I know enough. With such a friend by my side, nothing bad can happen to me. I'll look for a place to stay for the night later, but first I need something to eat.

The creature waddled along the path in complete dismay. The sky was as grey as his plumage, this was definitely his lucky day.

The cat on the roof peeked down. She pulled up her nose disapprovingly.

One more mouth to feed, she complained, as if we don't suffer enough already. Pig, step aside!

With a daring leap, she stood in front of the odd thing. Why are you here, she meowed haughtily, are you an animal at all? This farm is full.

Oh, how cute you are, was all the cat could hear. Perplexed, she stared after the speaker. Did she just find herself an admirer?

What the hell, Madame Hen cackled as she hastily collected her chicks, I will send my husband the cock after you! Hush, get out of my nest, this bed is occupied! She flapped her wings frantically and pecked at the strange specimen that had sneaked into her house. Beware me, she breathed heavily. It wasn't such a nasty cuckoo chick, was it? Despite her poor eyesight, she would fight like a lioness to protect her offspring.

Ma'am, you have such beautiful wings said the thing with the flip-flop feet, if I may be so bold, do you know where I can find something to eat?

Get out, clucked the chicken who couldn't believe her ears, you should be outsl, out, out! Hop on to the pond, or where the grass is always greener.

Indignantly, she pushed the unwanted guest outside with her breast nervously flapping her wings. That way!

It waddled happily in Madame Hen's indicated direction. Like a shadow, the cat followed the cub and kept a close eye on it. You rarely come across such a strange figure, she thought, as she carefully stepped into the meadow.

Why are you here, roared the bull who didn't like being disturbed when he was competing with his friend the bullfrog.

The duckling looked up in awe: You must be a nobleman, you are bigger and look so much stronger than my friend at the kitchen door.

Where are you hiking to, asked the bull surprised. He had not received a compliment for a very long time and except for the frog, none of the animals ever visited him.

My Lord, I have just arrived and am on my way to the waterside. It was Madame Hen who referred me.

I see, that cackling chicken again, thought the bull, who had not forgotten the bossy bird and still had a bone to pick with her. He nodded his heavy head at the grey plumage that waddled happily out of his sight.

Tell me, what's with all that flapping, said the heron who saw the eel escape right under his face as an ugly duck lowered his feet into his water.

Oh my gosh, said the little thing, we share the same colour. Sir, you have such a chic outfit. I'm the luckiest person on earth, I'll grow up just as big and elegant as you are.

Stupid goose, you are a duck or perhaps a swan, the heron spoke before spreading its wings and taking off.

A duck, no way, the tiny thing roared in dismay, I do not like that liar at all!

5-2-2024

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

2
$ 5.00
$ 5.00 from @ewyr

Comments