No need

2 38
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Blogging, Freewrite, ...

We have four seasons here where I live, although if you ask me there are only three.

There is something like summer unless it's more like Autumn or Spring. Summer means rainy days l, just like Autumn and Spring and once it's bedtime it stops raining for a short time or not. By now it's raining for at least 3 days and nights.

It should be Autumn now (starts September 21st according to human beings) but if it comes to Mom Nature she prefers different rhythms. It's fine with me, I follow her.

Are the days short, grey, does it rain? I sleep more. There's no need to stay awake. I do not watch TV and don't like to listen to the radio (DJs with ADHD are no fun to listen to) and hope there will be something interesting soon (that will never happen). It's not a waste of time to go to bed and have a long night's rest. If it comes to sleeping the average person is not getting enough sleep. I said it before women and children need at least ten hours of sleep a night (good to reduce stress, for the health, skin, and brains, and to get rid of extra weight).

So I sleep more and if not I clean up a bit.

Autumn is a good time to minimize again, to give away what you no longer need. A part of our things went to the give-away shop and today the youngest had a look at the "tiny bookshop" a small wooden cabinet where books can be left behind you no longer need or read. If you like books you are free to take them. If you ask me this is a great initiative and for sure I will take some books over there.

Once the days are getting shorter or if it rains it is time to read again or to crochet. Both are relaxing and good for the mood.

It will be December 5th soon enough again.

Time to celebrate Sint Nicholas Day. We still celebrate it and ignore Christmas with presents. To me, this just doesn't make sense.

The presents for this year will be a pair of house booties for everyone plus a cardigan or sweater.

20231013_183640.jpg

My baby doll is no exception.

Out of the rest of the yarn, I made some clothing. Now I can say I did that too (one is never too old to learn something new).

20231011_180234.jpg

Above I show you a photo of the booties I made for my youngest. I used the video of baby booties and made them longer (plus my child said she only wanted them if they were decorated and looked cute).

A great thing about crocheting is it goes fast. There's no need to crochet the entire day to make a great gift. The negative is it takes way more yarn than if you knit. 

If you like to make house booties... The idea is the same no matter for whom you are making it.

20230806_143604.jpg

A nice tutorial

I crocheted the sweater in the next tutorial in red. It fits the red house booties.

I admit you need to have some e

experience to see what she is doing, but here are the baby booties I used to make for my youngest. I just made mime longer. The worst thing is cold legs and feet if you sit.

By now it's colder inside than it is outside. Once it stops raining I go outside to feel warmer. Let's hope all those warm winter clothes, sweaters, booties, socks, hats and scarves are not needed.

If you crochet too, please let me know. I am curious to know what you make and why.

By the way, yarn is expensive and it's cheaper to buy a sweater in the shop. A plus is doing it myself is relaxing plus most of the yarn I use can be used over and over again. If what I made is no longer liked or used I can reuse the yarn and crochet something else.

13-10-2023

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @ellimacandrea
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Blogging, Freewrite, ...

Comments

Good thing you're doing those things. They're all useful and you can keep busy while it's raining. Double relaxation.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

There are plenty of other things I can do while it is raining but this is a way to relax. Overall I lack time :(

$ 0.00
6 months ago