New trees

7 81
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Three-plant-day was what we had at school. Primary school. I have no idea who arranged those trees but all pupils of each school went out on the same day to plant a tree. I plant several trees in my life and still try to add a bit to mother nature. I never thought I would buy some trees again not even after my walnut died and fell. Why not? Because I noticed the tree plants themselves and that's why I decided to let a few grow where they plant themselves. Who knows one day I have a part forest in my backyard.
What I do lack is fruit trees or some with nuts. I always dreamed to have a garden where I can walk through and eat. Nearly each tree or plant or bush I planted died.
Today I bumped into hazelnut trees (they can get 5 meters high where to plant a tree like that if you want to avoid others eat your hazelnuts?) for sale and blackberrie bushes (well I hope it will be once). Only 3 euros which isn't much. I bought them and had my tree-plant-day today.

I read these days Autumn is a better period for planting (the soil is still warm and the rain takes care of the watering) than Spring (true we had a huge problem with water same during the summer). I really hope winter will not start too early since it's easier to grow grass than trees with the winter coming up.

I wonder if the trees once planted by me and the rest of the school are still alive. It would be awesome but it's possible they died or are cut down long ago to build more houses or roads. Did you know a cut down tree sets free all the toxic it once filtered out of the air? Planting just one tree to compensate that is by far not enough. It depends on the age of the tree how many new ones you need to plant. Most likely even more than ten for each year it lived.

My text to my contest hosted on Steemit.

#kittywu #freewrite #nature

15
$ 56.10
$ 56.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why uour other plants died. Maybe you lack a green thumb?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, what we may ly lack is water and who knows what for poison the ground here contains. I removed about 2 trucks of trash hidden in the ground by the former owner a "farmer". Without water nothing grows except the weed and I can assure you it grows ten times faster than anything else. Let's see if these will stay alive. Next to it my kid found the reason why we have no walnuts. The plains with pesticides against the mosquitoes seenlm to cause it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So the pesticide and the lack of water is honestly what's been killing a number of your plants and trees? Have you ever tried resolving the pesticide issue around your area?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It kills not only mine. The whole area doesn't look healthy neither do the crops over here. A glasshouse would be nice but it's expensive plus I don't think I will be here in 5 more years time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh you shouldn't be that negative with life. Maybe you could ask around about the soil there and what might grow there that's more resistant to the pesticides

$ 0.00
3 years ago