Money talk

8 25
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Being an old mother was for long quiet normal just like working moms. Some day someone decided mothers staying at home, taking care of children is abnormal. Perhaps at those days mothers, were not as frequently single or church had a bigger voice in it. At a certain point, people started looking down on old mothers too. Suddenly it was unhealthy and called a risk.

If I look back my grandparents worked and so did their siblings. Those people were born in 1800. It was a time where it was normal parents worked and it was normal to have big families. It may be clear without a job there's no money, who doesn't work won't eat. I still say this to my children. Laziness is not a part of our life. We all do our share and if this isn't enough we help each other out. The question is "What happens if we can not help or if I die?" For my youngest, I am not only an old mother but a sick one too and there's no need to ignore reality. Sure children can help out, might find a small job but this is not enough to pay rent, the electricity bill, annual health insurance of 1500 euro, taxes etcetera. It's not even enough to buy food.

We talk about money frequently and it's no secret where the money comes from. My children know we need to save first and can not afford to buy what we see. Money might be a topic many do not like to discuss with their children but as a parent, I do not see any point in keeping our financial situation a secret. It may be clear if no one teaches you how to earn, spend, save, and invest money you will always be in need and live a life with bills piling up.

It's not said my children will ever find a (steady) job. Those golden times are over. It's hard to tell if their education will bring them anything but who knows they are lucky or thanks to it they find work, a hobby or meet some great people.

In the short term, we manage and I know they can do the shopping, laundry, wipe floors, and decide what is needed most. We try to stick to saving boxes even if these are only small amounts. It's the same if it comes to investments. We invest a bit in cryptocurrencies on a small scale. After all, you never know what their future brings and if there's a future for them in it.

#kittywu #parenting #money

7
$ 0.14
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I am older. my son has already turned 20 years old. and I'll be 60 in a few months.

My son already knows what to do if I don't wake up at some point. Or if I go out and don't come back.

He already has his instruments to continue in my absence.

money, inheritances? Nothing of that. Everything I have is here. In this house that belongs to my parents.

Everything I had no longer exists. The situation in the country allowed everything to end.

The solution is to finish studying and go find a better future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I told my children what to do but it's better if the youngest are adults first and can take care of themselves if not I told them to keep me alive for the government or so... They can dug a hole in the garden. My eldest is 35 years old and lives abroad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really don't think you can bury a person in a garden. I think the laws don't allow it.

If it was up to me, they could bury me here with my plants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is what my grandfather wanted. The law can forbid it but the question is who will find out about it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The answer is: nothing is hidden between heaven and earth.

Sooner or later the truth always comes out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being an older mother was not a problem. If it is because they are more likely to die, it is not true, because there are many very young mothers who die and leave their children orphaned, I see the problem if she is an irresponsible mother who does not help her children to grow up with dignity, responsibility and respect.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How about the father? Why is it the mother who needs to take care of everything? Women get elder anyway which means it shouldn't matter but it can be hard if your childhood is 3 generations ago from your child's. The world changed fast. You need to keep learning to help out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago