Moderator(s) at work

3 22




Strange language?

What if you cannot write in English? What if it takes days to translate every word you wrote in your native language into English? Should this be a problem here at read.cash or any other platform?


I don't think so.

If a platform gives the opportunity to write in every possible language this is something we, as a member, should not fight but accept.
I do speak more languages, I can write in a few more but it might not be perfect. Writing on my mobile phone takes me hours. I write as fast as I can but I reread, delete, rewrite many times which takes me three times more time as writing. Even after I published I edit if I see a mistake.



The good thing about communities it is possible to create a place where you can write in your own language.

It's easier for you and moderators can read and comment in less time as those who need to translate every word.

I do so with my cellphone and a slow connection but this consumes a lot of time. This doesn't mean you are not welcome to join the communities I moderate.

We are happy to see you and all of us are willing to translate, leave you a comment and if we reject you we say why. A comment might not be given in your own language but if you are really interested you can translate it too. At times I answer in English and hope other readers might be interested in the article as well once they read my answer. Like said it's up to you if you read comments, take the time to translate but please stay polite.


A comment given in a different language as yours doesn't mean the one who left it is an analphabetic and didn't read what you wrote!


Rejected.

A part of the rejections is not given because your article sucks.
There are some really great writings and they deserve to be noticed but they simply do not fit in the communities we moderate.
Because there is a flood of the content we make choices. We want to show quality, something special to those who visit one of these communities. I doubt it's a problem since most of you add to six or more communities which means you are noticed. You are noticed by name and with some luck, those moderators do their best and even leave you a comment.

Moderating

It takes a lot of time to read everything and decide if it fits a community.
If I know one that fits better I let you know. I even might add your post to that one. You are free to leave if this is not your choice.

If you read hundreds of posts daily there's no way to add everything and rules need to be changed. They are changing which means it is wise to check them once in a while.




The communities I (help) moderate.


Freewriting.

You can not simply add everything you wrote. This community is meant for articles written in ten minutes time. Posts that use a certain prompt. The prompt is the trigger you write about. It is hard to set a limit of words because not everyone is a fast typist and those using a laptop/desktop can be ten times faster.
We hope for about 200 words and something that is nice, interesting to read.
A poem is an exception.

Parenting.

You can share your ideas or experiences here. Again we ask for quality. A few lines will not be enough. Your article must add something to this community. It can be funny, make one think or give a solution to a problem. Just a photo of a child with some lines of text will not be enough.


Traveling.

You can share any travel story with or without photos here. The photos have to be your own and you need to write an article. Just posting photos is not enough. Tell the story behind the photo.
Where - When - Why - How.


Diaries.

You can share your diary/diaries here. It can be every kind of diary you can think about. Staying fit, pregnancy, lockdown life, schooldays, cooking, etc.
Knock yourself out and add something unique.
Again we ask for an article.


Psychology

If you are interested in the study of the soul, know why we do what we do, this is the place for you.
Have a look at the community. You might have a subject you like to write about.
It may be clear what is accepted here needs to be good.
Subject - explaination - examples - discovery/science - solutions.


(short) Stories/Tales

If you love to write or rewrite them this is the place to be.
There are plenty of stories told in over a hundred different ways. You can add your version here or share your own.
If you can tell a great story in only a few words or characters you are welcome here too.

It may be clear plagiarism is not accepted. This was the case with a high amount of stories. My advice: read the story, think it over and put your own spin on it.


Introduce Yourself.

You can add your introduction post here. You will not be rejected because this is your first step on this platform.
If you did not introduce yourself yet you can always do it later.
Keep in mind you can edit (change) your post later too.


Share Some Thoughts.

It needs to be a thought, an article, and just like with the other communities we care about grammar. You can be added but removed or rejected too if there's no improvement if it comes to your writing style.


Share Your Talents

We all have talents and this is the place to be. Share what you can and explain what it is, why and how you do it and what you use. Make a clear article out of it.


An article should have a decent amount of words (500 at least they say).

It's not that the number of words only make a good story but the words used count too. Long(er) stories might not be attractive to everyone. You need time to read them and time can be an issue if you have no internet, you are a slow reader and find it hard to concentrate. Still, I advise you to read and write as much as you can.

A good writer reads a lot.

Study what you read. What do you like about it? What can you use? When do you write a capital letter or are bold letters useful?
Anyone can write. My granny for example wrote very well and she didn't even finish elementary school.

Grammarly can be a great help. I advise you all to use it. Download the app for free in the Play Store.
If you are interested read this post too written by @heartbeat1515.

Some writing tips you find here.

6
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor

Comments

Please link your communities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done. Thanks for the tip. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate this write up a lot. It really sheds light on how to make use if the communities for read.cash users. I urge every user to look for the most suitable community for submission of articles, this will lessen the burdens of moderators and manage their time. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I asked too why they chose certain communities. So far no answer. I believe they simply pick as many as possible. It's better to pick by subject. Your post will never be found in between a large amount of everything. If moderators keep accepting it the idea of communities is useless.

I can not moderate 14 hours a day so I go schedule my time now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great work dear. You work in many communities and they bear different purposes. It will be easy for the writers to post their article according to the demand of the communities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be better for the author and the platform too. The communities are the topics now. If I go to a community Thoughts I like to read thought and the community Foid should not accept poetry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I submitted an article from user Symon to your community "Introduce Yourself (c32c)". Please don't accept it. It was a mistake. Thanx.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a look at it. Thanks for letting me know. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a clear explanation on what moderators do. I hope a lot of moderators at read.cash will find time to read this and apply it to their communities. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An author cannot leave a community, as you indicate above, only a moderator can remove him/her. I have requested from read.cash the option for an author to leave a community. They liked the idea and I think it will come in due time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago